PDA

View Full Version : Forum Access


opening_batsman
June 1, 2005, 08:09 AM
Please can someone tell me, why I've been banned from Banglacricket forum? I can't access the forum from my home PC, but I can do it from from my work PC. My IP is banned, changed my IP but still doesn't work.

Anyone from UK who's ISP is NTL, can you access banglacricket forum?

I've written to Banglacricket admin twice, but no reply.
Please Help!!!

chinaman
June 1, 2005, 08:20 AM
Please check the u2u message I sent earlier. You were online the other day, but did not read my u2u.

BTW, you were never banned. Sorry for the inconvenience.

See if you can access any of the following links:

1. http://www.banglacricket.com

2. http://www.banglacricket.com/alochona/

3. http://www.kobitaogaan.com

opening_batsman
June 1, 2005, 08:31 AM
sorry just read your U2U message now. I'm accessing this now from work.

At home, I tried last night, I can get into the banglacricket website but when I click the forum link I get a message saying I'm banned, even though I wasn't logged in with my username.

chinaman
June 1, 2005, 08:38 AM
hmm, interesting. Your ip, that you emailed earlier, is not in the ban list.

Is it possible that you have been using some proxies that uses different ip(s) from the one you provided?

You may answer using the u2u, if you want to.

opening_batsman
June 1, 2005, 08:56 AM
chinaman,

did you get my u2u?

Mahmood
June 1, 2005, 02:13 PM
Originally posted by opening_batsman
sorry just read your U2U message now. I'm accessing this now from work.

At home, I tried last night, I can get into the banglacricket website but when I click the forum link I get a message saying I'm banned, even though I wasn't logged in with my username.


That means your IP is banned at the forum level. However, the IP you sent us is not in the banned list. May be the IP you think you have is not the real IP. Please go to this url and get your IP address from there and let us know.

http://www.whatismyip.com/

opening_batsman
June 1, 2005, 04:48 PM
My problem is sorted. My ISP uses a transparent web proxy, and these sometimes cause problems on certain websites. I had to explictly define the proxy in internet options in IE, and now it works.
Great to be back on banglacricket forum on my home PC, been without it for the last 6 months.

Thanks Chinaman for your help.

If any UK members have NTL as their ISP then go to this website for more info about transparent web caches

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/robin.d.h.walker/cmtips/trancache.html

Mahmood
June 1, 2005, 08:43 PM
Awesome. Glad to have you back with us.

Locutus
June 10, 2005, 08:25 AM
There is some kind of problem! I couldn't get access to the forum or BC website for 10 min's and so. I am not sure if it is my internet (I use rogers high speed internet) or the server was overloaded with users. But it is working now!

Mahmood
June 11, 2005, 11:03 AM
Sometimes one of the services on the server fails (normal, restarts automatically soon), sometimes the server crashes (abnormal, happens once/twice a year), sometimes I reboot the server as general maintanence. These times, you will not be able to connect to BC.

Edited on, June 11, 2005, 4:05 PM GMT, by Rajputro.