PDA

View Full Version : Chat problem-sunday


oracle
September 21, 2003, 08:14 AM
5th ODI-Unable to get into Chat. 9.13 EST
Tried every server.What's up.

Nasif
September 24, 2003, 12:00 PM
Probably the servers were too busy :( . Are you able to log in now?

Tintin
November 7, 2004, 08:42 AM
I am behind a firewall at the office and I cannot connect through Mirc.

When I try to connect via our link, I get this error :

Connecting...
Unable to connect : access denied (java.net.SocketPermission CricInfo.LO.UK.Starlink.Org resolve)
Connecting...
Unable to connect : access denied (java.net.SocketPermission 195.157.47.17:6667 connect,resolve)
Connecting...
Unable to connect : access denied (java.net.SocketPermission 195.157.47.11:6667 connect,resolve)

Is there any workaround for this ?

Nasif
November 8, 2004, 02:18 AM
It uses IRC port 6009. If this port is locked then unfortunately you can't log on.

Also, you have to say "yes" or "accept" when the chat program asks for your permission. If it fails to connect then you can manually try this command:

/server irc.cricket.org 6007

Type this on the bottom text box after chat applet loads and it reports you "Unable to connect".

Edited on, November 8, 2004, 7:25 AM GMT, by nasif.

Tintin
November 8, 2004, 11:35 PM
>> /server irc.cricket.org 6007


I still get the 'unable to connect' :(

Nasif
November 9, 2004, 01:22 AM
I guess all your IRC ports are closed :(
IRC ports range at 6000 to 7000 level.

fab
November 9, 2004, 07:22 PM
Originally posted by nasif
I guess all your IRC ports are closed :(
IRC ports range at 6000 to 7000 level.

No. The 'registered' port numbers for IRC are 6665-6669. There are other applications that use 6000 - 7000. BTW Port 6007 falls within x11 range.

iana (http://www.iana.org/assignments/port-numbers)

But anyhow, when i try to connect to irc.cricket.org on port 6007 it connects on 6667.

Nasif
November 9, 2004, 10:26 PM
fab you are right.

My brain was probably on short circuit. hahaha :)

I didn't mean 6007, I meant 6667 and 6669. This is so stupid on my part. Can't think of any reason why I kept repeating 600x. Thanks for pointing it out.

Tintin you can try with port 6667. Chat applet by default uses 6669.

Tintin
November 10, 2004, 04:13 AM
No luck with that either. But I am taking an internet connection at home within a couple of days. That would be a permanent solution :)