View Full Version : Different team, different time BUT SAME RESULT

August 24, 2002, 11:29 AM
BD A 90 all out. Kenya won the match easily.

Source: I didn't hear it clearly on 10 O'clock news - but I think Sanwar won the toss this time and elected to bat first.

August 24, 2002, 11:35 AM
Date-stamped : 12 Nov2001 - 18:30
ODI # 1243
President's Cup, 1997/98, 5th Match
Kenya v Bangladesh
Aga Khan Sports Club Ground, Nairobi
15 October 1997 (50-overs match)

Result: Kenya won by 8 wickets
Points: Kenya 4, Bangladesh 0

Toss: Bangladesh
Umpires: MJ Kitchen (Eng) and RE Koertzen (SA)
TV Umpire: Saleem Badar (Pak)
Match Referee: PL van der Merwe (SA)
Man of the Match: MA Suji

Bangladesh innings (46 overs maximum) R B 4 6
Athar Ali Khan c Otieno b MA Suji 0 3 0 0
Mohammad Rafique c Modi b MA Suji 1 11 0 0
Habibul Bashar b AO Suji 4 12 0
Shahriar Hossain c Tikolo b Odoyo 16 47
*Akram Khan c Odoyo b MA Suji 7 23
Minhajul Abedin c Odoyo b MA Suji 5 18 0
+Khaled Mashud c Vadher b Karim 12 30
Mafizur Rahman c Sheikh b Karim 16 47
Salahuddin Ahmed hit wicket b Sheikh 12 47
Hasibul Hossain c Vadher b Odumbe 8 15
Shafiuddin Ahmed not out 0 0 0 0
Extras (lb 2, w 10, nb 7) 19
Total (all out, 41.2 overs) 100

FoW: 1-1 (Athar Ali Khan), 2-9 (Mohammad Rafique),
3-10 (Habibul Bashar), 4-28 (Akram Khan),
5-40 (Minhajul Abedin), 6-51 (Shahriar Hossain),
7-63 (Khaled Mashud), 8-88 (Mafizur Rahman),
9-100 (Salahuddin Ahmed), 10-100 (Hasibul Hossain).

Bowling O M R W
MA Suji 10 1 24 4
AO Suji 6 0 19 1
Odoyo 9 2 15 1
Karim 9 1 21 2
Odumbe 5.2 1 16 1
Sheikh 2 0 3 1

Kenya innings (target: 101 runs from 46 overs) R B 4 6
DN Chudasama c Shahriar Hossain b Hasibul Hossain 4 4 0
+KO Otieno not out 42 53
SO Tikolo b Hasibul Hossain 0 1 0 0
AV Vadher not out 42 50
Extras (lb 2, w 8, nb 4) 14
Total (2 wickets, 17 overs) 102

DNB: MO Odumbe, HS Modi, TM Odoyo, *AY Karim, AO Suji, MA Suji,
M Sheikh.

FoW: 1-11 (Chudasama), 2-11 (Tikolo).

Bowling O M R W
Hasibul Hossain 6 0 54 2
Shafiuddin Ahmed 4 0 18 0
Mohammad Rafique 4 0 15 0
Salahuddin Ahmed 2 0 12 0
Mafizur Rahman 1 0 1 0

*** Match limited to 46 overs per innings after rain

Thanks :: Raju
<END> Contributed by The Management (help@cricinfo.com)



August 24, 2002, 01:22 PM
Should we just give up on them ? Give up on Bangladesh Cricket ? When was the last time we won against a national/A-team or first class team ? *sigh*

You know what, let's bring in some really weak team (MCC team that toured Malaysia/Singapore) and score us some wins. That ought to make us feel a little better.

August 24, 2002, 01:46 PM
From Ittefaq.com

This is simply inexcusable. *sigh*


August 24, 2002, 02:13 PM
Wset Indies are very good at confidence building, we can send a West Indies B team that competes in the Busta Cup, and gets thrashed by everyone. That would be sure to make everyone feel better.

August 24, 2002, 07:39 PM
WANTED - a good batting coach.

I think it is time to stop these jokes about Bangladesh batting. This is just happening too many times to keep on blaming. No good will come from it and the same results will keep on coming.

The BCB is too busy playing merry-go-around ? Bangladesh batting failure is a big time problem now. Stop blaming the players and try to do something to improve things.

August 24, 2002, 10:55 PM
1) Rafiqul
2) Javed Omar
3) Mazharul Haque
4) Md. Ashraful
5) Sanwar Hossain (c)
6) Alok Kapali
7) Anwar Hossain (wk)
8) Sabbir Khan
9) Tapash Baisya
10) Anwar Hossain Munir
11) Alamgir Kabir

Kenya XI:

1) Kenedy Otieno (wk)
2) Ravindu Shah
3) Hitesh Modi
4) Thomas Odoyo
5) -
6) -
7) -
8) Obuya
9) Tony Suji
10) Olonga
11) Martin Suji

I don't understand, even though the Bangladesh A team pace bowlers performed so poorly in the first one dayer, still the team management there has included the same old three pacers again in the side?

And Mosaddek Hossain Rubel - an experienced leg spinner, was not given any chance (very experienced in domestic matches)?

And is Hannan Sarkar injured or something? He was chosen to be the vice captain in the side.

August 24, 2002, 11:09 PM
Hosts in nine-wicket win over Bangladesh
By SUNDAY NATION Correspondent
Kenya defeated touring Bangladesh 'A' by nine wickets at Ruaraka Sports Club yesterday and put on show their improved form with less than a week before the Nairobi triangular.

After winning the toss, Bangladesh's opening batsman Rafiqul Islam, found himself under pressure and managed only 18 runs that came off 28 deliveries with two boundaries. His opening stand of 14 with Zaved Omar was the highest for his side. Omar's innings was cut short by Martin Suji (3-24) who got him caught by wicketkeeper David Obuya.

Hitesh Modi destroyed any hopes the visitors may have had of pushing the scores to a respectable level when he got Anwar Hossain adjudged run out with the scores showing 90 for the loss of 10 wickets with 16.1 overs on hand.

Kenya's opening batsman Kennedy Otieno Obuya had an unbeaten 58 with eight boundaries and a towering six, his half a century coming off 52 balls.

Obuya shared an unbroken second wicket partnership of 78 with Modi and the stand sealed the fate of the tourists with 31 overs to spare.

Bangladesh 'A' innings

R. Islam c D. Obuya b L. Onyango–18
Z. Omar c D. Obuya b M. Suji–1
M. Hoque c D. Obuya b M. Suji–0
M. Ashraful c K. Obuya b L. Onyango–15
S. Hossain c M. Odumbe b L. Onyango–8
A. Kopali c D. Obuya b T. Odoyo–3
A. Hossain c R. Shah b C. Obuya–14
S. Khan c C. Obuya b T. Odoyo–1
T. Baishy c T. Odoyo b T. Suji–12
A. Hossain run out (Hitesh Modi)–5
A. Kabir not out–0

Extras (b-1, lb-5, nb-1, w-6)–13
Total for 10 wickets in 33.5 overs)–90

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-14, 3-25, 4-38, 5-53, 6-58, 7-69, 8-73, 9-90 and 10-90.

Bowling: Kenya; M. Suji 10-2-24-3, L. Onyango 7-2-20-2, T. Odoyo 7-2-17-2, C. Obuya 7-1-16-1 and Tony Suji 2.5-0-7-1.

Kenya innings

K. Obuya not out–58
R. Shah c M. Hoque b T. Baishy–4
H. Modi not out–19

Extras (lb-2, w-8)–10
Total for one wicket in 19 overs)–91

Fall of wicket: 1-13

Did not bat: Steve Tikolo, Maurice Odumbe, Thomas Odoyo, David Obuya, Collins Obuya, Tony Suji, Martin Suji and Lameck Onyango.

Bowling: Bangladesh 'A'; A. Kabir 5-0-25-0, T. Baishy 8-0-39-1 and A. Hossain 6-1-25-0.

Match Umpires: S. Modi and D. Odhiambo

Match Referee: H. Shah.