PDA

View Full Version : The controversial Art of Leg Before Wicket


One World
June 27, 2007, 09:50 PM
The umpire will consider an lbw decision if he believes the ball would have hit the stumps had its path not been obstructed by the batsman's pads or body.
But the umpire also has to take certain factors into consideration before making a decision.

From a bowler's perspective, the off stump is to the left of middle stump.
And the leg stump is to the right of middle stump. This is reversed for a left-handed batsman.
The most important factor when an umpire considers an lbw decision is whether the ball pitched outside leg stump.
If the ball lands outside the line the of leg stump, the batsman cannot be given out - even if the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps.
The most important factor when an umpire considers an lbw decision is whether the ball pitched outside leg stump.
A batsman cannot be given out if the ball hits the bat before the pad.


A defence against an lbw appeal for a batsman is to get his pad outside the line of off stump.

An umpire will turn down any appeal if he believes the ball has struck the batsman's pad outside the line of the off stump, even if the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps. Unless...
...the batsman makes no genuine attempt to play a stroke.
The outside off stump defence becomes redundant.
Scenario : The ball has pitched on the stumps and has struck the batsman on the pads in front of the wicket.

The ball has not pitched outside the line of leg stump.
And it has not struck the batsman outside the line of off stump.
Therefore the umpire should give the batsman out. But a lot of the time it is never this simple...
The umpire must also consider four other variables:


The height of the ball's bounce
Swing and spin of the ball
Where the ball hit the pad
Whether the batsman is attempting to play a strokeEach pitch tends to have its own idiosyncrasies which must also be taken into account by the umpire.

Some are faster, harder and bouncier than others, which means the ball will bounce higher than on a slower pitch. In those circumstances, the umpire must decide whether the ball would have gone over the stumps after striking the pad.
Batsmen can create doubt in an umpire's mind by taking a big stride down the pitch with their front foot.

By moving further down the pitch, the batsman lengthens the distance between the ball and the stumps.
If he is struck on the pad a long way down the pitch, the umpire has a more difficult job to assess whether the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps. But if a batsman is struck while on his back foot or back pad, there is a shorter distance to judge between the batsman and the stumps, strengthening the bowler's appeal for an lbw decision.
The umpire must consider if the batsman is making a genuine attempt to offer a stroke.

Sometimes, especially to spinners, batsmen can intentionally hide their bat behind the pad, making it unclear as to whether they are playing a shot or not.
This is a very defensive move designed to frustrate bowlers. However, it can be difficult to judge, so it comes down to the discretion of the umpire.
Lbw appeals happen within the space of two seconds, often less.

During that time the umpire has to assess numerous factors before arriving at their final outcome.
The increasing role of technology has brought even greater scrutiny to lbws.
TV viewers can see a decision from numerous angles with the help of computer software which can predict swing and spin. But the umpire has only one chance to get the decision right.


http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.d7d8fea3f5.jpg (http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/image.php?d7d8fea3f5.jpg)
Rudi Koertzen dismiss Michael Clarke

Source: BBC
<!-- E BO -->

israr
June 28, 2007, 04:31 AM
Alright, only one doubt.
To a right-handed batsman, if the ball is pitched outside the off-stump, but then swings in to the batsman and hits his leg just before the off-stump line, will that be given out, considering all the variables suggest that the batsman must be given out.

Surfer
June 28, 2007, 11:23 AM
Alright, only one doubt.
To a right-handed batsman, if the ball is pitched outside the off-stump, but then swings in to the batsman and hits his leg just before the off-stump line, will that be given out, considering all the variables suggest that the batsman must be given out.

If the umpire is convinced that the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps had it not been blocked by the pad, he can sure give it out.

The norm is that if the 'impact' happens outside the line of the off stump, the batsman gets away.