PDA

View Full Version : Windows Vista & audio problem (recording/line in)


Mohiul
October 6, 2007, 08:17 AM
Recently I've bought a new laptop with Windows Vista Home premium. For first few days I was very delighted but as days passing on & I'm facing new problems.

I was using Yahoo Messenger to call home(BD) previously with XP. The service was fantastic but when I started using it with Vista sound quality was not good for first few days. I can hear from the other side properly but otherend faces problem hearing my voice. After these first few days suddenly it didn't work anymore with Windows Vista. Yahoo doesn't recognize the microphone anymore.

For this problem, I checked all the sound settings. They are okay, even all the level sliders are upto the max level. I tried to record voice using sound recorder. The recorded sound is very low. If I put the volume level to the highest position I can hear some sound but so low that I cannot recognize the sound at all.

Any kind help will be highly appreciated.

Nasif
October 6, 2007, 11:14 AM
Check if there is microphone boost option. Also, try to reinstall vista driver from your audio vendor; it should be there online.

Mohiul
October 6, 2007, 11:42 AM
Check if there is microphone boost option. Also, try to reinstall vista driver from your audio vendor; it should be there online.

microphone boost slider is upto the max level. I tried to update driver using device manager but windows saying that the driver is up-to-date

I've checked the vendor website. The latest version of the driver that they have is the same version my laptop has

Thanks for your kind response

Omio
October 9, 2007, 05:24 AM
I think u have some problem with your net connection.
If you using wireless then you can not expect better quality.

Mohiul
October 9, 2007, 06:12 AM
I think u have some problem with your net connection.
If you using wireless then you can not expect better quality.

Thanks for your response

I tried with sound recorder to record my voice but nothing can be heard when I playback that file.

I've tried this headset with other laptop. It works fine

Mohiul
October 18, 2007, 12:04 PM
It was a bloody unidentified virus that caused the problem. I was forced to format by drive C & reinstall the operating system(thanks to Dell Support). Now it's working fine.

Thanks everyone for trying to help me out of this problem

ammark
October 18, 2007, 01:04 PM
Ever since Nasif Bhai recommended Avast! anti-virus, I have never looked back. It does the most thorough detection than anything else. Last week a virus bypassed my sister's laptop's very well updated AVG... but it couldnt infect my mother/mine desktop computer because of Avast! I recommend it.

Mohiul
October 18, 2007, 01:36 PM
Ever since Nasif Bhai recommended Avast! anti-virus, I have never looked back. It does the most thorough detection than anything else. Last week a virus bypassed my sister's laptop's very well updated AVG... but it couldnt infect my mother/mine desktop computer because of Avast! I recommend it.

How costly is this Avast! anti-virus?

goru
October 18, 2007, 02:48 PM
How costly is this Avast! anti-virus?

http://www.google.com/search?q=avast