PDA

View Full Version : "Stereo Mix" in Windows Vista!


Murad
December 12, 2007, 02:32 PM
I need some help from the computer experts here.

I was trying to record some audio streams from internet for some days. I recorded it but there was no sound. And today I've figured out that I don't have the "Stereo Mix" and "Wave out" that I used to have in Windows XP. And we need them to record Audio Streams. Currently I have the Windows Vista.

I searched in google for the solution and found out that Vista has disabled the "Stereo Mix".

Can anyone tell me how can I get the "stereo mix" in pc? Or is there any other way I can record the audio streams without the "stero mix"?

Thanks In Advaced :)

ammark
December 12, 2007, 02:38 PM
thats effed up. If I have a full duplex sound chip that can process multiple audio files at the same time, why should it be "stopped" from recording sth? As a user I should have the right to use my hardware for whatever its capable of doing! Screw microsoft and their corporate vindictiveness. Liberty for all... especially on the web.

Murad
December 22, 2007, 07:59 PM
amader ei site e eto comptuer experts.. keo dekhi ektu help korlo na.. guess everyone is so busy...

Murad
March 26, 2008, 10:09 PM
Oh.. after so many tries..
I finally got the driver which has the "stereo mix"

vista drivers sucks...

I've downloaded the Sigmatel Audio driver for XP from Gateway website. My laptop is also from them.

Now I installed it and its working..:)

If you have gateway laptop with Sigmatel Audio driver and you want to have "stereo mix" then down the driver from the link.

SigmaTel Audio Driver for Win XP (http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/getFile.asp?id=20817&dscr=Sigmatel%20Audio%20Driver%20version%205.10.50 31.0&uid=191176288)

Download it then just open it and install. You don't have to do anything else.

Electrequiem
March 26, 2008, 10:26 PM
muradnyc ... although vista has stereo mix disabled, there's is a way to enable it without discarding your current driver. This is what you do:

Control Panel --> Sounds --> Recording Tab --> Right click on the white area, and select "show disable devices"

Stereo mix should show up as one of the options, and go ahead and enable it. :D

Murad
March 26, 2008, 10:32 PM
Brother, I've tried it long time back when I bought the laptop.

I didn't have anything else in the Recording tab other than the Mic. Nothing came after I slected the "show disable devices". :)

Electrequiem
March 26, 2008, 10:55 PM
hmm, that's odd. It worked like a charm for me. Maybe your audio driver wasn't preloaded with the feature, and mine was. My PC is a HP btw.

well, as long as you have it fixed now :). Free music for all!

Murad
March 26, 2008, 11:16 PM
Yeah you were lucky cuz you had HP.

One of my cousin also bought a HP laptop and he has it.

Dell also didn't have it before but now they released a new driver after so many complains from the customers.

Only the stupid Gateway is not fixing it. Seems like they are not getting any bash from the users.