PDA

View Full Version : tait's delivery stride compared with shahadat's

al Furqaan
January 14, 2008, 12:49 PM
i remember there was a thread about shahadat, losing a lot of bounce factor in his bowling because of is collapsed knee.

surprisinly shaun tait (IMO current world's fastest bowler) also has this problem. he's slightly taller than rajib, 6-4, and far more muscular...

does anyone know if tait extracts the kind of bounce that a prototypical fast bowler should get?

http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200704/r137554_468125.jpg

Tigers_eye
January 14, 2008, 01:03 PM
Tait's upper body strength is many fold more than Shahadat. Bowlers generate pace through their thighs. Shahadat'r kathi'r moto shorir. Strength condition coach dorkar.

LateCut
January 14, 2008, 01:40 PM
I am a mechanical engineer. So I will answer this from this perspective. The velocity at which the ball leaves the wrist is a combination of two vectors. One generated by arm and another by the running speed. Now the fastest humans (sprinters) can generate only about 20mph running. By no means Shahadat can run that fast. I will give him 15mph (considering other aspects of releasing the ball). Remaining 65mph or more has come from the slingshot motion of the arm. The energy of this comes from the shoulder and arm muscles (and to a lesser degree from the wrist). I think there is al lot of bio-mechanics involved in transferring the kinetic energy of the arm to the ball. There is a research done on baseball pitchers (who do not run in yet routinely generate 90mph balls). It claims that there is an optimum (height and jerk(?)). The point is improving the technique of momentum transfer and upper body strength (shoulder, arm and cuff) should help

LateCut
January 14, 2008, 01:47 PM