PDA

View Full Version : Was de Villiers out?

Alien
February 23, 2008, 08:02 AM
I am not very good with the rules of the game and this is the first time in my life (aside from my 4 year old nephew) that I saw the ball bounced twice. Cricinfo is now making a noise where Villiers was unfairly given out.

Link (http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/339437.html)

Just curious what the rules say. Its just uncommon, that's all. Otherwise I reckon its an out. He didn't have to play it. Had Villiers hit it for six they wouldn't be complaining for sure. Personally I think they are trying to blame it on Bucknor to save themselves (and Villier) the embarrassment of missing getting out in a ball that bounced twice.

The guy is in hot waters already. Conventional to blame on him too.

zainab
February 23, 2008, 08:06 AM
Aleem Dar also confirmed that it was out, so 2 umpires cant be wrong, the rule says that the ball cannot bounce more than twice

cricman
February 23, 2008, 08:09 AM
It was a legal ball it's now gonna be called a Doosraful.

FagunerAgun
February 23, 2008, 08:11 AM
Something new is always bizarre to some critics even though it is legally correct. But who cares, we got the wicket. Now just move on BD tigers.

MohammedC
February 23, 2008, 08:24 AM

:floor::floor:

Doosraful

BangladeshFan
February 23, 2008, 08:25 AM
yes its legal and this was caught and bowled.

i remember a delivery which brian lara bowled probably to shahriar biddut or someone else in dhaka in a practice match. the ball bounced twice and bowled the batsman. it was perfectly legal then and none complained.

how come the SA players dont even know basic rules and trying to create hue and cry now?

incredible
February 23, 2008, 09:06 AM
6. Ball bouncing more than twice or rolling along the ground
The umpire at the bowler's end shall call and signal No ball if a ball which he considers to have been delivered, without having previously touched the bat or person of the striker,