PDA

View Full Version : To make your firefox run faster


Mahmood
July 23, 2008, 01:07 PM
1)Type "about:config" (about:config) into the address bar and hit enter. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

2) Alter the entries as follows:
Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"
Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"
set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3) Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.

Kabir
July 23, 2008, 01:16 PM
What a gem!

Thanks Rana bhai :)

reverse_swing
July 23, 2008, 01:27 PM
Some of the coolest firefox tricks >> (http://www.lifehack.org/articles/technology/15-coolest-firefox-tricks-ever.html)

patriot
July 25, 2008, 12:14 PM
1)Type "about:config" (about:config) into the address bar and hit enter. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

2) Alter the entries as follows:
Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"
Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"
set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3) Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.

Thanks .That made my FF3 run faster than light . But , Why doesn't FF3 have these settings by Default ?

reverse_swing
July 29, 2008, 07:33 PM
But , Why doesn't FF3 have these settings by Default ?

Well, by default FF waits 250 ms before it begins displaying a page.So if you make it(nglayout.initialpaint.delay) to 0 then web pages will start to crop up faster, but remember it will aggrandize the overall page load time, since you're starting the page display earlier.:)