View Full Version : 5 stages to Grief

September 16, 2008, 11:00 AM
Grief is a somewhat commplicated and misunderstood emotion. Yet, grief is something that, unfortunately, we must all experience at some time or other. We will all inevitably experience loss. Whether it is a loss through death, divorce or more importantly cricket related, the stages of grieving are the same.

There are five stages of grief. If we get stuck in one stage or the other, the process of grieving is not complete, and cannot be complete. Thus there will be no healing. A person MUST go through the five stages to be well again, to heal. Not everyone goes through the stages at the same time. It is different for each person. You cannot force a person through the stages, they have to go at their own pace, and you may go one step forward then take two steps backward, but this is all part of the process, and individual to each person. But, as stressed, ALL five stages must be completed for healing to occur.

1-Denial-"This can't be happening." "The article has to be fraud." "NO way can Aftab do this!" Not accepting or even acknowledging the loss.

2-Anger- Do I really have to give an example of this?:-/

3-Bargaining-bargaining often takes place before the loss. Attempting to make a deal with BCCI. Wishing ICL never existed.

4-Depression-Overwhelming feeling of hopelessness. Retiring from BC

5-Acceptance- See ATMR(Although, he could still be at step 1)

Get help. You will survive. You will heal, even if you cannot believe that now, just know that it is true. To feel pain after loss is normal. It proves that we are alive, human. But we can't stop living. We have to become stronger, while not shutting off our feelings for the hope of one day being healed and finding love and/or happiness again.

BTW, when is the first match for Dhaka Warriors?

September 16, 2008, 12:05 PM
wait, what happened with ATMR?

September 16, 2008, 12:17 PM
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/XOVS_SYyXe8&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/XOVS_SYyXe8&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

It's not your fault!

September 16, 2008, 12:31 PM
Good one Tonoy.

let me see,

Denial - never was in denial. surprised, shocked in the beginning, but not in denial.
Anger - offcourse, still a bit angry, more like let down.
Bargaining - nothing to bargain here. done deal.
Depression - cant afford to be depressed over a few disgruntled players. dont have that time.
Acceptance - accepted the news in the first instance.

You know my fav two lines in english language?
Sh!t happens.
Move on.

September 20, 2008, 03:43 AM
I still cant believe this stupid situation! I am still in the first and second stage! I dont think I will ever get over this tragic news of the ICL. Hope the ICL fails and we get our players back soon. No one even cares about the ICL outside of india.

September 20, 2008, 03:52 AM
DABDA huh! Tonoy taking behavioral sceince? :) Can you make a similar post related cricket to the stages of sexuality? I am intersted.

September 20, 2008, 04:02 AM
DABDA huh! Tonoy taking behavioral sceince? :) Can you make a similar post related cricket to the stages of sexuality? I am intersted.
It seems you may be questioning your sexuality from all the grief surrounding the exodus of players;)