PDA

View Full Version : internet explorer problems


Tehsin
December 31, 2003, 12:50 AM
I am having two issues:

1: my home page switches into a search page every now and then (I did regedit but the problem still occurs - at a lesser rate)
2: My 'right click' and 'open page in new window' OR simple 'open in new window' html instructions do not work. For example, I have u2u's that I have not been able to view.

Any suggestions ?

-----I used the directions from these microsoft articles already:

articles 180176, 286426, and 320159.

chinaman
December 31, 2003, 12:57 AM
Did you check for adware / spyware and virus? Does it lead to particular page?

[Edited on 12-31-2003 by chinaman]

Orpheus
December 31, 2003, 01:40 AM
Wild guess here:

Turn off your pop up stopper.. that will solve one problem

2) definitely run ad-aware... and delete those trackers - that will solve the hijacking problem

if above doesn't work.... i dont' know anything else...peace!

To download adware.. type that in www.download.com

Tehsin
December 31, 2003, 01:55 AM
ran ad aware earlier - quarenteed some cookies that have been present for months - no luck.

last virus check - 3 days ago. Updated DAT files couple hours ago - will run it again.
----------------------------------

The problem started after I started browsing with my privacy and security set to high. You'd think that it would have made it safer... :)

Tehsin
December 31, 2003, 01:57 AM
I still don't get the deal with the right click it simply won't work or won't open it in a separate window. Have to do the old cut and paste routine.
WAIT, sounds like a java issue, doesn't it ?

Tehsin
December 31, 2003, 02:03 AM
funny thing happened. I went to tools - internet options - advanced and restore defaults. Restarted browser and opened a second window and it went straight to windows update. Oh well.

Orpheus
December 31, 2003, 02:10 AM
If it still doesn't work, you have one option.. take your pc and throw it out of the window...

works everytime!

Nasif
December 31, 2003, 02:32 AM
tehsin bhai i have dealt with this spamware. There is no manual way to remove. Only way to remove this crap is to use Spybot Search & Destroy (best spybuster, and its free).
Download it here: http://download.com.com/3000-2144-10122137.html?part=104443&subj=dlpage&tag=button

Once you install is, run it in Advanced Mode (from start choose, Spybot S&D -> Spybot S&D (Advanced Mode).

Now click on check from problems. It will run for few minutes and scan your whole computer for spyware. Once done, then click on fix it to remove all spyware. If it asks to restart your computer do it.

Now close Spybot S&D. Then start it again (advanced mode). Now click on Tools from left pane. Here you will see a button called "Browser pages". On the right pane you will see all the websites that your browser goes to by default. Edit each of them (click on "Change" button on top) into a site that you know, like "http://www.google.com" or if you want a blank page you can you can type "about:blank".

Once done editing you are free of all those spysites. To protect yourself from future attacks do this: start SpyBot S&D in advanced mode again. Now click on "Immunize" button. Do a check and then Immunize.

That should do it :)

Nasif

Nasif
December 31, 2003, 02:34 AM
Also, before you do first phase of fixing you should download newest updates. Installation program won't have the newest updates for lastest spamwares. Just choose "Search for updates" then click on Download to update it automatically.

Tehsin
December 31, 2003, 03:34 AM
DONE. Will found out tomorrow if it worked. Thanks for the suggestions everyone.

Nasif
January 2, 2004, 10:33 AM
So, did it get fixed?

Mahmood
January 15, 2004, 10:08 AM
I have the same problem as Tehsin Bhai, this damn Lucky Search becomes my homepage, everytime I reboot.

I followed your suggestion, but didnt fix the problem. So I am trying to get used to restting my homepage after every reboot.

chinaman
January 15, 2004, 10:10 AM
Ever tried Zero Popup? It has a feature that prevents home page changing. I love it.

Mahmood
January 15, 2004, 10:30 AM
Ok, I will give it a shot.

chinaman
January 15, 2004, 10:43 AM
As a temporay bypass while you fix the IE, consider using MozillaFirebird. It doesn't need to be installed, just put it in a folder and go. It's really good, about 6-7 MB & of course free.

Navarene
January 15, 2004, 10:49 AM
To avoid problem1, I tried it with the software "Lavasoft ad-aware 6". And it worked.

Tehsin
January 16, 2004, 12:43 AM
Thanks for the ideas. Just to let you know - I had to re-install windows to make the right click work on IE.

Hasib
January 18, 2004, 10:46 PM
to make on little adjustment? oh dear! (I had to reinstall windows in mine coz the comp was too slow once.