PDA

View Full Version : Problems posting new thread


adamnsu
September 30, 2013, 06:04 AM
Hi,

I have tried to post a new thread on Time Pass today but I am getting this message:

<fieldset> 500 - Internal server error.

There is a problem with the resource you are looking for, and it cannot be displayed.

</fieldset>


Is the website having issues today??

Many thanks

adamnsu
September 30, 2013, 06:52 AM
problem got sorted

iDumb
September 30, 2013, 06:33 PM
is this the most new failed thread ever...?

lol. i am still trying to understand it...... a new thread about not able to post a new thread..say whaaa?

Zeeshan
October 1, 2013, 10:26 PM
It's a big problem. My hunch is new thread can't handle links or quotes. Nasif bhai! Nasif bhai! Calling bc domkol bahini...hello hello mic tasting mic tasting!! Hello!!!

Zeeshan
October 3, 2013, 02:14 AM
This must be bc's answer to my new thread opening spree. Shocking! Shocking bolchi shocking! :p

Tiger Manc
October 8, 2013, 12:00 AM
Experiencing same problem. adamnsu how did you get it sorted?

Zunaid
October 8, 2013, 12:15 AM
This will be happening for a little while. This is happening when the database is being backed up. When the backup is complete the database is again receptive and you should be able to start new threads.

With close to 2 million posts along with hundreds and thousands of multimedia attachments, this has started to stress our current server. If you recall, we had moved to a new home on the cloud after several years ago when we out grew our last server.

We are exploring a number of alternatives - options that are also being weighed in with available funds and any revenue stream we have.

Options include:


Purging old threads and posts. The bad? Lots of history lost.
Updating to the latest version of the bulletin board - this probably will have minimal impact
Upgrading to the next higher class of cloud server. This will be expensive and at some point our expenses will exceed our revenue and existing funds. Many of us have donated funds and time to BC to keep it running and I'm sure some of us will do so again if needed.


And the pace at which things get resolved is incumbent upon how much our day jobs constrain us.

Jadukor
October 8, 2013, 01:09 AM
Do we really need the Match Archive section? Not sure if anyone would bother to go through all the
omg nasir out... shabash gazi wkt paise etc etc posts

plus we could also delete half of the zee threads which are below 3 replies

iDumb
October 8, 2013, 10:21 PM
shut down the site if your revenues can not cover the cost of running the site efficiently.....or sell it to someone who can.

Zunaid
October 8, 2013, 10:31 PM
shut down the site if your revenues can not cover the cost of running the site efficiently.....or sell it to someone who can.

It's a volunteer site. We put our money in and have done in the past. You have too. Once we are tired of this **** we might just shutter it (at least that's my inclination). It's just a matter of time no?

Jadukor
October 9, 2013, 11:02 AM
shut down the site if your revenues can not cover the cost of running the site efficiently.....or sell it to someone who can.

Stop suggesting every advice your kajer bua gives you. This site will live on for a long time

iDumb
October 9, 2013, 11:28 PM
Stop suggesting every advice your kajer bua gives you. This site will live on for a long time

thats fine but sometimes a site can be better run by 1 dedicated person than 10 here and there volunteers. i am suggesting realistic stuff bro....

Zunaid
October 9, 2013, 11:28 PM
thats fine but sometimes a site can be better run by 1 dedicated person than 10 here and there volunteers. i am suggesting realistic stuff bro....

You volunteering?

Jadukor
October 9, 2013, 11:55 PM
You volunteering?

only if we rename the site to Bua's Cricket (BC)

Zunaid
October 10, 2013, 12:11 AM
only if we rename the site to Bua's Cricket (BC)

ROFL. I'm game.

Tigers_eye
October 12, 2013, 08:24 AM
jadukar on a role here.
if it is cheaper can we run two different servers one archived and one live instead of going to a higher expensive server? to have a link to old thread should be easy as well.

Roni_uk
October 13, 2013, 07:32 AM
Geez.. I hit 'submit new post' probably about a million times yesterday and just now .... gave up in the end but should have come here first.

Roey Haque
October 27, 2013, 11:25 AM
So has there been a solution yet? I can't post in the Bd cricket section!

Zunaid
October 28, 2013, 11:28 PM
Nasif and I made some tweaks that might resolve the current issues with new thread creation at the expense of losing the related thread feature (which I do not believe was used much). Let us know here if you still experience issues. This is a stop gap measure and we are working on a long term solution.

Zeeshan
October 28, 2013, 11:29 PM
Will do ^^^

Zunaid
October 28, 2013, 11:30 PM
Will do ^^^

But don't abuse the restored privilege :)

Roey Haque
October 30, 2013, 12:32 PM
Many thanks. It seems to be fixed.