PDA

View Full Version : "new hardware found"


Tehsin
January 14, 2005, 09:32 PM
when I didn't even install any new hardware. Everytime I start up my pc, this new hardware window comes in. What do I do ? Could notfind a colution in microsoft or maybe I was not looking at the right place.

allrounder
January 14, 2005, 09:46 PM
what new hardware found? gives no description of the hardware? is there any printer attached?

check the followings, might have something in it for u.
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Hardware/Printers/HP_Printers/Q_20906125.html#10558817

http://www.experts-exchange.com/Operating_Systems/Q_20426945.html

nasim
January 14, 2005, 10:19 PM
Since you have not installed any new hardware, probably one of the divice/hardware's driver got corrupted.

Do the following:

1. Open "Device Manager" which is under control Panel.
2. Look for a "Yellow" sign against any device.
3. Reinstall the driver again.

You should be fine.

Tehsin
January 14, 2005, 10:42 PM
the only thing there is the 'unknown device' under 'other devices'.

By the way - no printer attached.

nasim
January 14, 2005, 10:46 PM
Follow the wizard, at some point the system will ask for suitable driver, donot choose that option, instead chose the option of "Display a list of compitable device" or " Let me choose from the device list" something like that (I can,t exactly remember what option would u hv. Once u select that option, system will take u to the device manufacturer's list. From there, u would know which device has corrupted driver.

nasim
January 14, 2005, 11:24 PM
Another option:

If all of ur devices are working fine, then stop/disable the "plug & play service". U will not see "found new hardware" wizard again.

To do this:

go to control panel/services
find plug & play services & disable it from its properties.

crickwizard
January 14, 2005, 11:36 PM
go to device manager, if there is any yellow question marked device, select and delete. Is it XP or Win9x?

Tehsin
January 15, 2005, 02:04 PM
xp and i have tried it two days ago - it won't delete and even though it shows disabled - the found new hardware option pops up every time. :)

Spitfire_x86
January 31, 2005, 02:16 PM
You probably didn't install driver of something.

cisco-guy
January 31, 2005, 06:48 PM
Hi Tehsin, Try this out.

Hardware Profiles in Windows XP
To create a hardware profile
You must be logged on as an administrator or a member of the Administrators group in order to complete this procedure. If your computer
is connected to a network, network policy settings may also prevent you from completing this procedure.
Open System in Control Panel.
On the Hardware tab, click Hardware Profiles.
Under Available hardware profiles, click Profile 1 (Current), and then click Copy.
Type a name for the new hardware profile, and then click OK.
You can customize your new profile by enabling or disabling devices for that profile in Device Manager.

Notes
To open System, click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance and Maintenance, and then click System.
The profile named Profile 1 (Current) provides a model for you to create new hardware profiles. It will not appear in the list
of available hardware profiles shown during startup.

Good luck!
To specify the default hardware profile for startup
You must be logged on as an administrator or a member of the Administrators group in order to complete this procedure. If your computer
is connected to a network, network policy settings may also prevent you from completing this procedure.
Open System in Control Panel.
On the Hardware tab, click Hardware Profiles.
Under Available hardware profiles, use the arrow buttons to move the hardware profile you want to use as the default into the top
position in the list. During startup, Windows will load only the device drivers for hardware devices that are enabled in the
profile you select.
Under Hardware profiles selection, click one of the options that specifies how long Windows waits before automatically loading
the default hardware profile.

Notes
To open System, click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance and Maintenance, and then click System.
If you want the default hardware profile to load automatically without showing you the list during startup, enter a 0 in
seconds under Hardware profiles selection. If you decide later to select a different hardware profile, press the SPACEBAR during
startup and choose a profile from the list.

Tehsin
February 2, 2005, 01:21 AM
Thank you cisco guy. I will try this weekend.