View Single Post
Old May 27, 2011, 08:30 AM
nakedzero's Avatar
nakedzero nakedzero is offline
Cricket Legend
Join Date: February 3, 2011
Favorite Player: ShakTikMashNasir(ShakV2)
Posts: 2,024
Default BD preliminary squad announced for WC qualifiers round

Bangladesh national team management committee announced the preliminary 27-man squad for World Cup 2014 Asian Qualifiers Round One on Friday.

Bangladesh will play their home match against Pakistan on June 29, 2011 at Bangabandhu National Stadium and away on July 3, 2011 at Punjab Stadium in Pakistan.

The winners from Round One will progress to the second round which will also have a home-and-away format on July 23, 2011, and July 28, 2011.

Twenty teams, including the winners of the second round, will be divided into five groups of four teams each. The winners and runners-up from each group will advance to the fourth round after playing in a home-and-away format.

Ten teams in the fourth round will be divided into two groups of five and top two teams from each group will qualify for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. This round will have a home-and-away format.

Third-best teams from Round 4 will play home-and-away in Round 5 and the winner will qualify for a Round 6 playoff against a team from another continent to qualify for the FIFA World Cup.

Goalkeepers: Aminul (Sk Jamal), Biplob, Nehal (Muktijoddha), Mamun Khan (Sk Russel).

Defendence: Rajoni, Yamin Munna (Muktijoddha), Ariful, Rezaul, Nasir (Sk. Jamal), Mamun Mia, Linkon (Abahani), Uttam Banik (Sk Russel), Yusuf Khan (Brothers).

Midfield: Mamun, Zahid, Shakil, Komol, Meshu (Sk. Jamal) Matiur Munna, Maruf (Muktijoddha), Raju (Sk Russel).

Attacking: Ameli (Sk Jamal), Mithun (Muktijoddha), Shakhawat Rony (Abahani), Yusuf (Sk Russel), Sohel Rana (Farashganj), Jamal Bhuyan (Denmark).

Reply With Quote