View Single Post
Old June 21, 2011, 11:07 PM
al-Sagar's Avatar
al-Sagar al-Sagar is offline
Cricket Savant
Join Date: December 23, 2007
Location: The Quiet Place
Favorite Player: Curtly Ambrose
Posts: 26,375

New Page 1


12 teams will play in three groups each featuring 4 teams

Group A: Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Bolivia

Group B: Brazil, Paraguay, Equador, Venezuela

Group C: Uruguay, Mexico, Chile, Peru



The first round, or group stage, saw the twelve teams divided into three groups of four teams. Each group was a round-robin of six games, where each team played one match against each of the other teams in the same group. Teams were awarded three points for a win, one point for a draw and none for a defeat. The teams finishing first, second and two best-placed third teams in each group qualify for the quarterfinals.

Tie-breaking criteria

Teams were ranked on the following criteria:

1. Greater number of points in all group matches
2. Goal difference in all group matches
3. Greater number of goals scored in all group matches
4. Head-to-head results
5. Drawing of lots by the CONMEBOL Organising Committee

Different from previous tournaments, 30 minutes of extra time will be played if any match in the knockout stages finish tied after regulation (previously the match would go straight to a penalty shootout).[27]

  Quarterfinals   Semifinals   Final
 Q3    Third Place
 C1     LS1   
 B2       LS2   
Reply With Quote