View Single Post
Old May 5, 2009, 03:53 AM
salazar19 salazar19 is offline
Street Cricketer
Join Date: May 5, 2009
Posts: 1

Champions Trophy has been given a format which is quite different from the World Cup, another ICC cricket tournament where all top teams in the world participate. Under this ICC Champions Trophy structure, teams participating in the tournament have been kept in two groups: Group A and Group B.

Team Groups
Group A cricket teams are Australia, India, Pakistan and West Indies. Group B cricket teams are South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and England.

Who Plays Whom
Each side is scheduled to play the other three sides in each group. Every team of the group will play other teams only once. The first two sides in each group will move to the semi-finals. Then Group A winner will meet Group B runners-up while Group B winner will compete Group A runners-up. Winners of both the matches will meet in the finals.

Day-Night Matches
All matches in the ICC Champions Trophy will be day-night. This has been done keeping in view the humidity and heat in the month of September in Pakistan. Another reason is to attract more viewers to the stadiums.
Reply With Quote