facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Cricket > Cricket

Cricket Join fellow Tigers fans to discuss all things Cricket

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 10, 2012, 10:13 AM
firstlane firstlane is offline
Join Date: March 8, 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,838
Default Whatmore calls the shots as PCB revamps policies

Australian coach Dav Whatmore showed that he is going to play an influential role in Pakistan cricket in the future as PCB and selectors today went for a revamp of policies while announcing the national squads for the coming tour to Sri Lanka.

The revamped policy decisions saw Misbah-ul-Haq removed as captain of the T20 squad and also dropped as a player for the format while allrounder and close friend, Mohammad Hafeez was not only appointed T20 captain but also given the position of being deputy to Misbah in tests and ODIs.

Hafeez's promotion and preference over former captains, Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi confirmed that the board was ready to give Whatmore his say in cricket matters.

Insiders said that it was Whatmore and Intikhab Alam, an influential figure in the board and the head of the national cricket academy, who had backed Hafeez for the new roles although the PCB chairman, Zaka Ashraf and chief selector, Iqbal Qasim were in favour of having Shahid Afridi as the T20 captain.

"The fact that for the first time in Pakistan cricket the selectors have announced separate squads for Tests, ODIs and T20 cricket with several changes in their line ups show that Whatmore is calling the shots.

Full report here:

Will our next coach enjoy as much power as Whatmore?
Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket