facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

 
 


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Miscellaneous > Forget Cricket

Forget Cricket Talk about anything [within Board Rules, of course :) ]

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #126  
Old June 13, 2012, 07:53 PM
Nasif's Avatar
Nasif Nasif is offline
Administrator
BanglaCricket Development
 
Join Date: October 4, 2002
Location: USA
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 8,653

Sayeed bhai... I feel like I have taken a course in Wireless Signals 101
And its great!
__________________
They said, "After we turn into bones and fragments, we get resurrected anew?!" Say, "Even if you turn into rocks or iron.[17:49-50] |Wiki: Cold Fusion occurring via quatum tunnelling in ~101500 years makes everything into iron.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old June 13, 2012, 10:46 PM
mac's Avatar
mac mac is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: May 30, 2006
Location: dhaka
Favorite Player: All the Tigers
Posts: 2,630

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsayeed
Beacuse HSPA investment is peanuts compared to LTE*. A card swap on the Node-Bs. HSPA will suffice BD demand for a looooooong time. Plus the same modem will be able to fall back to EDGE where there is no 3G. With the same chipset. 100 networks is nothing. The big ones are all not going there yet...look at EU. Due to the economies of scale with 90% of the world in 3G, you can get equipment cheaper for at least the next 10 years. Even VzW does not have LTE nationwide. And Vzw deployed this year, and is one of the leading providers in the world. Plus they migrated from CDMA. If City is looking for expansion, LTE is right for them.

With a 20 GiG international backbone, you don't need to empower 1 Lakh Subs with 100 MBPS download speeds.

*given that Release 6 is deployed.
I don't think any operator will provide 100 mbps download speed yet. They will offer packages of highest 4 mbps. LTE, I think can be seen as a broadband solution in major cities like Dhk, CTG. Most of the BTS are already 3G capable, as you've said. But what I think should be logical is a spectral refarming of the 10 MHz band. 5 for HSPA and 5 for LTE. There are more than 2500 BTS in Dhaka city alone. And launching LTE covering the whole Dhaka should not require more than 1000 BTS upgrade to eNodeBs due to higher spectral efficiency, given only 3-4 Mbps speeds are offered per user.

UEs are a major concern. But most users in BD dont own a 3G UE. So ultimately asthey will have to buy a new UE then why not LTE? (handsets are bit costly alright, but dongles then). LTE can easily grab the badly planned Wi-Max business.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old June 13, 2012, 10:48 PM
mac's Avatar
mac mac is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: May 30, 2006
Location: dhaka
Favorite Player: All the Tigers
Posts: 2,630

A new operator will be given license in the auction. So, what should they do? Deploy LTE directly? Or take the traditional roadmap?
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old June 13, 2012, 10:56 PM
Zunaid Zunaid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: January 22, 2004
Posts: 21,737

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasif
Sayeed bhai... I feel like I have taken a course in Wireless Signals 101
And its great!
Ditto.

My last solid networking course was a grad level networking course using Tanenbaum's book that was pre-cell phone revolution. We ere still reading about CDMA then. I've since tried to kept up with the latest but started getting lost after 3G. Sayeed's summary was great. Danke!
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old June 15, 2012, 03:21 PM
zsayeed zsayeed is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: April 19, 2007
Posts: 4,906

Thanks guys.

Not sure where to post this question, but perhaps here:

Any one know what Cable Set Top Box will work in Dhaka? I mean I just want to get an analog Cable box that will convert to A/V RCA connector out. Namely what will work with Dhaka Cable company Serving Dhanmondi?

Thanks, and pardon me if this is the wrong thread.
__________________
I Want to Believe
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old June 16, 2012, 12:40 AM
Isnaad's Avatar
Isnaad Isnaad is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: Dhaka Cantonment
Favorite Player: 75 69 29
Posts: 5,175

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajfar
Can anyone tell me what's the number to dial to check your GP phone balance and GP internet balance? I can't find it on the Grameen Phone site.
For phone balance: *566#
For internet balance: *566*10#
__________________
"And be true to every promise- for, verily you will be called to account for every promise which you have made." - [Al Qur'an - 17:34]
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old June 16, 2012, 12:57 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,070

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsayeed
Any one know what Cable Set Top Box will work in Dhaka? I mean I just want to get an analog Cable box that will convert to A/V RCA connector out. Namely what will work with Dhaka Cable company Serving Dhanmondi?

Thanks, and pardon me if this is the wrong thread.
Try Stadium Market, paltan for set top boxes. I think the chinese boxes there have AV out as well as Coaxial/RF out. Our new cable operator in Banani saves us the hassle by giving last mile on coaxial. Picture quality and sound is very consistent and does not fade at different frequencies on the spectrum (but its still an analog signal), unlike most other cable operators who despite having repeaters cannot ensure consistent amplification and throughput.
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old June 29, 2012, 04:21 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,070

মেগাবাইট নয় গিগাবাইট চুরি: আমরা কি সবাই ছাগল?
লিখেছেন: তোফায়েল খান
তারিখ: জুন ২৭, ২০১২ সময়: ১১:৫১ অপরাহ্ন পড়া হয়েছে: ১৬,৬৪২ বার


Quote:
ভবিষ্যতে দেশের ব্যান্ডউইথ চাহিদা সামনে রেখে বিএসসিসিএল সরকারের অনুমতিক্রমে কনসোর্টিয়ামের আপগ্রেড-৩ প্রক্রিয়ায় অংশগ্রহণের মাধ্যমে অতিরিক্ত 4 Million MIU*Km ক্যাপাসিটি আনয়নের ব্যবস্থা করেছে। গত ৩রা এপ্রিল ২০১১ তারিখে গণ-প্রজাতন্ত্রী বাংলাদেশ সরকারের মাননীয় প্রধানমন্ত্রী উক্ত Upgradation প্রকল্পের শুভ উদ্বোধন করেন। ইতিমধ্যে বিএসসিসিএল আপগ্রেড-৩ তে অংশগ্রহণ করার জন্য ৫০ কোটি টাকা নিজস্ব তহবিল হতে SEA-ME-WE-4 কনসোর্টিয়াম কে প্রদান করেছে। এর ফলে ব্যান্ডউইথ পরিমান ২০১২ সালের মে মাস নাগাদ ৪৪.৬০ Gbps হতে বৃদ্ধি পেয়ে ১৬০ Gbps এ পৌঁছাবে। কিন্তু এটি আসলে হয়ে গেছে ২০১১ এর অক্টোবর মাসে, এখানে দেখুন মন্ত্রী বলেছেন -
-
-
অথচ সরকারের তাবেদার এক পত্রিকার দাবী এ ব্যান্ডউইথ এখনও যুক্ত হয়নি তবে যুক্ত হবে আগামী জুলাই মাসের শেষের দিকে।এই দেখুন এখানে:
তবে ভয়ংকর কথা হচ্ছে এই কাজটা ২০১০ সালেই হয়ে যাওয়ার কথা ছিল যা বিটিসিএল এর ওয়েবসাইট সেসময় এক প্রেস-রিলিজে ( http://www.bsccl.com.bd/index.html ) বলেছিল। তখন ঐটা স্থগিত করা হয়েছিল। কেন? যেহেতু যা ছিল তারই চারগুন ব্যান্ডউইথ অব্যবহৃত ছিলো। এত ব্যান্ডউইথ দিয়ে কি হবে, রপ্তানীর উদ্দ্যোগও প্রকাশ্য নেয়া যাচ্ছে না, এইসব অজুহাতে। আর এদিকে এই একই সাবমেরিন ক্যাবলে অন্যান্য দেশগুলো আজ ১.২৮ Tbps এ উন্নিত হয়ে গেছে।
Click title to read the blog post.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old July 3, 2012, 01:16 AM
tiger_bright tiger_bright is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: February 4, 2012
Posts: 141

Is even 8mbps available in Dhaka now?
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old July 3, 2012, 02:18 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,070

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger_bright
Is even 8mbps available in Dhaka now?
Not unless you have tonnes of money. 2Mbps unlimited from Banglalion is Tk.5250+VAT per month! I know they also give 5Mbps but I dont know at what rate.
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old July 3, 2012, 02:23 AM
F6_Turbo F6_Turbo is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: February 19, 2011
Location: A hospital near you
Favorite Player: Brian Lara
Posts: 2,552

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammark
Not unless you have tonnes of money. 2Mbps unlimited from Banglalion is Tk.5250+VAT per month! I know they also give 5Mbps but I dont know at what rate.
I use this. It's great.

I also have a broadband line, which I use for other purposes. Mainly...the guys have a FTP, and I can request anything I want. They upload within 24 hours, and download speeds from the FTP are around 3.6-4 Mbps(never below this)

best of both worlds
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old July 3, 2012, 08:25 AM
tiger_bright tiger_bright is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: February 4, 2012
Posts: 141

We really are last in our region in internet development. This core tech needs investment.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:03 AM
tiger_bright tiger_bright is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: February 4, 2012
Posts: 141

I was curious as to what is available in India, Pakistan and Lanka. I came across 50mb speed broadband in Pakistan, India.
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old July 4, 2012, 10:55 AM
Sovik's Avatar
Sovik Sovik is offline
Cricket Guru
 
Join Date: August 17, 2005
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh.
Favorite Player: Brian Charles Lara
Posts: 9,241

Using qubee in our office. 1mb, sky (35gb). Went over that and speed dropped down. Waiting for btcl's broadband now.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old January 8, 2013, 02:47 AM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Cricket Guru
 
Join Date: June 18, 2005
Location: AB,Canada
Favorite Player: Nasir / Mominul / Gazi
Posts: 8,985

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal
New location - better speed
__________________
ভাই, ল্যাঞ্জা যখন বাইর হইয়াই গেছে, একটু নাড়ান না
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old January 8, 2013, 08:47 AM
One World's Avatar
One World One World is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: May 18, 2005
Location: Queens
Posts: 16,560

^Good for you.

Here I am .

__________________
Human mind has all the power, when your mind is grind grit wins the battle. Go Bangladesh. Be the world number one in Test Ranking.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old January 8, 2013, 09:12 AM
MohammedC MohammedC is offline
BanglaCricket Staff
 
Join Date: April 15, 2007
Location: Manchester,UK
Favorite Player: bhujee kom
Posts: 22,437



Mine is very slow
__________________
I love Bangladesh cricket and that's why I found BanglaCricket.com
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old January 8, 2013, 10:24 AM
cricheart's Avatar
cricheart cricheart is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: March 2, 2012
Location: Haowa Bhaban
Favorite Player: Any smart *** spot fixers
Posts: 1,592

Quote:
Originally Posted by MohammedC


Mine is very slow
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old January 8, 2013, 12:28 PM
Maysun's Avatar
Maysun Maysun is offline
MLC World Series I
 
Join Date: April 11, 2011
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 5,890

Not phanny, MoC bhai!
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old January 11, 2013, 08:18 AM
Dhurr's Avatar
Dhurr Dhurr is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: October 19, 2004
Posts: 2,301

Teletalk 3G ftw.



Just as good as advertised.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old January 11, 2013, 08:22 AM
Dhurr's Avatar
Dhurr Dhurr is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: October 19, 2004
Posts: 2,301

Teletalk: 1,380 Taka/month flat for 1 MBPS line (8 GB limit). You have to buy a prepaid sim for 900 taka. You can buy it from pretty much most stores. This is probably the best deal for you if you are visiting Dhaka for a month.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old January 16, 2013, 12:28 AM
Zunaid Zunaid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: January 22, 2004
Posts: 21,737

Quote:
Originally Posted by MohammedC


Mine is very slow
Yes it is.

Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old January 30, 2013, 12:16 AM
NoName's Avatar
NoName NoName is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: April 9, 2011
Location: Sauga
Posts: 2,651

Quote:
Originally Posted by MohammedC


Mine is very slow
Lets go Canadian internet..woot woot!!

__________________
"Life is a dream from which we all must wake."
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old January 30, 2013, 03:12 AM
Blah Blah is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: December 8, 2004
Posts: 1,161

I use banglalion 2mbps and I am quite content with the speed. No problem so far in one year or so. Other than teletalk (which I don't think provides anything interesting in terms of price/speed with stupid quota) I have used every single one of them. Zoom is probably the only service that has reliable coverage and speed, everything else has been a hit or miss for me.
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old January 31, 2013, 02:45 PM
Rabz's Avatar
Rabz Rabz is offline
BanglaCricket Staff
BC - Bangladesh Representative
 
Join Date: February 28, 2005
Location: Here
Favorite Player: Father of BD Cricket
Posts: 20,465

I'm using BTCL ADSL 1 Mbps connection. Its pretty good. Usually hovers around 0.9 Mbps on average, but sometimes it shoots up to a great speed though not for long.

This is what I recorded few weeks back, which has to be highest for me in Bangladesh.




Re: Just tested now, this is what I'm getting:

__________________
Verily, in the remembrance of Allah do hearts find rest [Al-Qur'an,13:28]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
BanglaCricket.com
 

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket