facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

 
 


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Miscellaneous > Forget Cricket

Forget Cricket Talk about anything [within Board Rules, of course :) ]

View Poll Results: Which web browser is better?
Explorer 2 33.33%
Safari 0 0%
Firefox 4 66.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old May 3, 2006, 05:07 PM
Omio's Avatar
Omio Omio is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: February 25, 2006
Location: London, UK
Favorite Player: Only Ashraful & Me
Posts: 4,429

ie, i feel good by ie
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old May 3, 2006, 06:01 PM
Faceoff's Avatar
Faceoff Faceoff is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: June 16, 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,271

Anyone know the plugin to view prothom-alo in 'opera'?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old May 3, 2006, 06:12 PM
Zunaid Zunaid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: January 22, 2004
Posts: 22,099

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaman
My favorite is the ie based Maxthon. Used to be an avid user of Netscape upto the Communicator days. Tried FF but the tab sizes are ugly and the mouse movements are jerky at times.
You can customize to your heart's content. Just apply a theme that gives you the right look and feel. With a nice theme and tabbrowser preference extension - your tab issues will be solved.

I have my tabs at the bottom of my browser window.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old May 3, 2006, 11:56 PM
chinaman chinaman is offline
Retired BC Admin
 
Join Date: August 14, 2003
Location: pc near u
Posts: 8,021

Not looking for themes, it is the humongous size of the tab (one tab as large as the full tabbar and two tabs each as large as the half of the tabbar) that sores my eyes. Besides, how do you open / close a tab in FF? All I need is a double click at the area with blue arrow. You can see the size of my tabs pointed by green arrows. The sizes are customizable too.

Jerky mouse reminds me of the earlier beta versions of the FF and it's email clients. When it comes to browsing, I wouldn't settle for anything less than a smooth mouse pointer

BTW, netscape gold was the only browser I actually bought from the store after standing in line for more than 3+ hours. My feelings for the netscape / mozilla are rooted very deep but my taste and convenience has outgrown it over time.

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old May 4, 2006, 12:32 AM
Zunaid Zunaid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: January 22, 2004
Posts: 22,099

You can right click on the non tab portion to open a new tab. Or double click. It is customizable to your hearts content. Place the tabs on the bottom of your browser screen. I usually browse with most toolbars off to maximize my screen real-estate.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old May 4, 2006, 12:41 AM
Zunaid Zunaid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: January 22, 2004
Posts: 22,099

The bottom of my browser window.
Attached Images
File Type: gif bb.gif (16.8 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old May 4, 2006, 12:51 AM
chinaman chinaman is offline
Retired BC Admin
 
Join Date: August 14, 2003
Location: pc near u
Posts: 8,021

The tab size looks good. Is it because there are six tabs? Can you please post the same bar with only two tabs, thankx.

Double click to open is available which is encouraging. The close is still not available, right?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old May 4, 2006, 12:59 AM
jabbar's Avatar
jabbar jabbar is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: January 31, 2005
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Favorite Player: Don't want to jinx anyone
Posts: 1,186

None of your friggin' business man!!
(Just kidding, its IE)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old May 4, 2006, 04:55 AM
Shafin's Avatar
Shafin Shafin is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: January 31, 2006
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 3,015

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaman
The tab size looks good. Is it because there are six tabs? Can you please post the same bar with only two tabs, thankx.

Double click to open is available which is encouraging. The close is still not available, right?
closing is also available with tab mix plus extension,try it out,much better than tabbrowser preferences.
And also colourful tabs for getting out of monotony.

Opera beta is good,yes,but FF 1.5 has all its features and more,you only need to know what extension to look for.
__________________
The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old May 4, 2006, 07:14 AM
chinaman chinaman is offline
Retired BC Admin
 
Join Date: August 14, 2003
Location: pc near u
Posts: 8,021

Hmm, all those features are available in this 2mb browser, Maxthon. You don't need to install any so-called extensions.

A better comparison is possible if you try both. I periodically do. Themes aside (you can always get nice skins), just try the standard version of Maxthon which is only 2 mb and then share your thoughts. Have fun.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old May 4, 2006, 05:30 PM
Spitfire_x86's Avatar
Spitfire_x86 Spitfire_x86 is offline
Cricket Legend
Fantasy Winner: BD v NZ 2008
 
Join Date: December 17, 2004
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 7,697

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaman
Besides, how do you open / close a tab in FF? All I need is a double click at the area with blue arrow.
CTRL + T -> New Tab
CTRL + W or CTRL + F4 -> Close Tab
CTRL + TAB or CTRL+ SHIFT + TAB -> Switch between tabs
__________________
sig?

Last edited by Spitfire_x86; May 4, 2006 at 08:28 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old May 4, 2006, 07:02 PM
chinaman chinaman is offline
Retired BC Admin
 
Join Date: August 14, 2003
Location: pc near u
Posts: 8,021

C'mon spitty
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old May 5, 2006, 11:24 AM
guy_zin's Avatar
guy_zin guy_zin is offline
ODI Cricketer
 
Join Date: February 14, 2004
Location: NihonBashi
Posts: 589

Maxthon ar Bufferzone...
like Tamak ar Filter...du'jon-e du'jonar.

here's a review of browsing the browsers @ http://www.technudgelive.com/forum/?p=25

(& Bufferzone is like ,securing your whole system protection by virtualization )



__________________
"It's tough for a natural hooker to give it up." - Ian Chappell
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old May 15, 2006, 12:44 PM
Rubu's Avatar
Rubu Rubu is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: February 15, 2004
Location: Michigan
Favorite Player: Mashrafee Mortaza
Posts: 8,361

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubu
I did start using firefox as my main browser now a days. but still I must use IE for prothom alo, bdkhela, homeviewbangladesh and such. So, I have to say both.

the main reason I like firefox is the tab view, and the main reason I like IE is that its more flexible in maximizing the actual 'view' area. In firefox, I'm not able to put anything on the same horizontal line as the menu, cannot reduce the 'address box' size to put something else next to it and such. once firefox has those flexibilities, it would be much better.
Digging up this old thread because I just found the solution to this. Use IE tab pluggin for firefox and anything that can be done with IE can be done with firefox.
__________________
সন্মানজনক পরাজয়ের চিন্তাটাই অসন্মানজনক
- The days of playing for honorable defeat is over.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old August 9, 2006, 10:25 AM
Alien's Avatar
Alien Alien is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: July 19, 2006
Location: Vladivostok
Favorite Player: Sakib Al Hasan
Posts: 2,954
Default Firefox or Explorer?

Today i downloaded Firefox after some recommendation from friends saying that its better than the regular explorer. After browsing for a while, i did find it to be quite fast, and websites seem to go for Firefox.

What do you think is better?

Last edited by reverse_swing; August 9, 2006 at 12:24 PM.. Reason: mod.content: Both threads merged.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old August 9, 2006, 12:14 PM
Bancan's Avatar
Bancan Bancan is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: March 25, 2006
Location: CANADA
Favorite Player: Brian Lara
Posts: 2,957

i use both. IE 7 beta 3 and firefox 1.5.0.6 woth noia 2.0 extreme theme
__________________
Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can't Lose!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old August 9, 2006, 05:53 PM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,471

isnt this a duplicate post?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
BanglaCricket.com
 

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket