facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Cricket > Cricket

Cricket Join fellow Tigers fans to discuss all things Cricket

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old November 17, 2004, 01:47 PM
Fazal's Avatar
Fazal Fazal is offline
Cricket Sage
Join Date: September 16, 2004
Posts: 17,910
Default 21-man list announced for India Series

Having satisfied skeptics about his bowling action left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak Raj got his place back in the Bangladesh fold but there was a surprise recall for middle-order batsman Sanwar Hossain in the 21-man list of probables announced by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) yesterday for the upcoming home series against India next month. Left-handed batsman Faisal Hossain and right-arm pacer Alamgir Kabir made way for Razzak and Sanwar.


Chief selector Faruque Ahmed said that they wanted to remain true to their policy of not making wholesale changes despite a forgettable home series against New Zealand. He however attributed Sanwar's inclusion to the need for experience in the middle order. "We had discussed names of potential candidates which inclu-ded Al-Shahriar, Naimur Rahman and Tushar Imran and felt Sanwar was the best choice at the moment," said Faruque.


Regarding Razzak, Faruque said the highly rated spinner had received a clean bill. "His action has been monitored and corrected under the guidance of BCB's high performance (HP) unit manager Richard McInnes. The Board has told us that there is nothing illegal in Razzak's bowling anymore."

Faruque hinted that there was hardly any possibility of including more players based on the performances in the forthcoming Premier Division Cricket League but did not rule out changes.


Faruque was particularly delighted that speedsters Mashrafee bin-Mortuza and Talha Jubair, who have not played for Bangladesh in over a year, were eligible for selection. "Both are now fully fit and I am hopeful that they will feature in the series," said Faruque.


Habibul Bashar, Rajin Saleh, Khaled Mashud, Khaled Mahmud, Javed Omar, Mushfiqur Rahman, Hannan sarkar, Sanwar Hossain, Alok Kapali, Mohammad Ashraful, Mohammed Rafique, Manjarul Islam Rana, Tapash Baisya, Abdur Razzak Raj, Mashrafee Bin Mortuza, Enamul Haque Junior, Nazmul Hossain, Tareq Aziz, Nafees Iqbal, Aftab Ahmed and Talha Jubair.

source: http://www.thedailystar.net/2004/11/18/d41118040130.htm

Edited on, November 17, 2004, 6:55 PM GMT, by Fazal.
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket