facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Cricket > Cricket

Cricket Join fellow Tigers fans to discuss all things Cricket

Old October 8, 2003, 04:41 AM
Cricket Legend

Default Mortaza shoulders pace burden

Mortaza shoulders pace burden

By Shahid A. Hashmi (BBC)

Mortaza impressed many observers in Australia
Nineteen-year-old Mashrafe Mortaza's greatest cricketing ambition is to become his country's Courtney Walsh.

The Bangladesh paceman was motivated by watching Walsh on television while growing up.

And if he is anything like his idol when he takes on England this month, the tourists might have something to worry about.

"I have always admired Walsh's discipline, he was different," Mortaza told the BBC Sport website.

"Then when I started playing I saw Wasim Akram bowl and admired the great Pakistani bowler's destruction of his opponents."

if he overcomes fitness problems he has the talent to go places

Bengali journalist Utpul Shuvro
Mortaza hails from the small town of Narail, not far from the Indian border.

His father initially wanted him to look after the family's chicken farm.

But Mortaza, whose nickname Koushik means "son of a saint", had other plans.

Now he stands out as the sole true fast bowler in a side full of medium-pacers, and carries the hopes of millions of his countrymen, of lifting the standards of Bangladesh cricket.

Test cricket's 10th nation has only recently begun to show signs of improvement after losing 20 of their first 21 Tests, 15 by an innings and nine inside three days.

"It has been a tough journey for me and my team but I promise that we will lift ourselves as we are learning fast," Mortaza says.

Wasim advised me to be patient, keep up my fitness and work hard

Mashrafe Mortaza