facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

 
 


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Miscellaneous > Forget Cricket

Forget Cricket Talk about anything [within Board Rules, of course :) ]

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 30, 2007, 09:19 AM
Shafin's Avatar
Shafin Shafin is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: January 31, 2006
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 3,015
Default Goodbye Dialup,and shame to Submarine Cable.

When the Submarine cable was opened,everyone hoped for a complete renovation of internet in bangladesh.Truth be told,it had worsened,the speed of dialup has been so pathetic that i needed 10-20 minutes just to open a page,so I've decided to say goodbye to it and look forward.

Now using GP's EDGE, not that great a speed,but at least this is navigable.

So,I believe I'm going to get active again.I did not have net at home for last 5-6 months.

I will try to get a blog also.Which site you would suggest?
__________________
The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 30, 2007, 09:46 AM
Hatebreed's Avatar
Hatebreed Hatebreed is offline
BC T-Shirt Design Winner
 
Join Date: June 19, 2005
Location: Camden, London
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 7,200

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shafin
I will try to get a blog also.Which site you would suggest?
I'm working on a blog-hosting site of my own, but it's not finished. I like this one- www.vox.com
__________________
My photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 30, 2007, 05:22 PM
Ahsan Ahsan is offline
ODI Cricketer
 
Join Date: December 27, 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 593

Shafin,
can you please shed more light on the internet speed availability in Dhaka, BD from your experience? Is there any one that offers high speed (mega bits level or close) broadband (I heard their speed compares with dialup in USA) and uninterrupted that I can rely for work from home?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 31, 2007, 02:02 AM
Shafin's Avatar
Shafin Shafin is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: January 31, 2006
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 3,015

Quote:
Originally Posted by ISmacker
Shafin,
can you please shed more light on the internet speed availability in Dhaka, BD from your experience? Is there any one that offers high speed (mega bits level or close) broadband (I heard their speed compares with dialup in USA) and uninterrupted that I can rely for work from home?

Thanks
I'd try to elaborate as much as I can.

Presently,bangladesh connects with internet through the 16 GB/s submarine cable,and a lot of ISP's use VSAT's too.T & T has imposed some heavy charges on the cable bandwidth,and there are reports that BTTB can not operate the switches properly,as a result, a big part of this bandwidth capacity remains unused.

The Internet connection in Dhaka has been dominated by Dial-up ISP's,but recently cable ISP's(They call them broadband,although they are merely LAN's using shared bandwidth) are gaining populerity.Average speed for Dial-up is lower than 1 kbps and the low cost cable solutions normally top at around 6-7 kbps for around 1000 a month.

Then there is the radio link operators, they charge pretty high,but if you are looking for wireless connectivity,they will give them equal to the cable bandwidth for about double the price.

You can also use SIM's of mobile companies with GPRS/EDGE. Unlimited package would cost 920 tk for teletalk and 1200 for GP.the normal rate is 2 poisa per kb.

And if you are really desperate to get some amazing speed and have a fat wallet, you can buy bandwidth directly from BTTB,it'd cost you more than 2 lacs for a bandwidth of 1 MB/s. I have come to know that one of the govt organization pays 85000 for 256 kbps on cable.

So,as long as you dont plan to download GB's of files,around 1000 per month would be enough to get you connected at browsable speed around the clock.

You misheard the comparison of our broadband with american dial-up,as far as I know about the american speed,its way better,and another bad news,many broadband lines gets cut frequently,so for uninterrupted communication,try wireless methods instead.
__________________
The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 31, 2007, 02:16 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,090

Ohh the RAGE!! BTTB should be corporatised, stripped off its assets and sold off. Enough of Damned Ineptness. Na paare service dite, tar upore dakaati kore boshe! Tk.2 lakh for 1MB/s??? I pay Can$45 per month (Tk.2400+) for half that speed (575 KB/s)... I could get myself a Fiber to the Home connection here for a bleeding 2 Lakh takas, fulfill all of BC members cricket viewing needs and THEN Some!! Buffoons the lot of them!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 31, 2007, 09:40 AM
zahid zahid is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 28, 2005
Location: Mather nichey
Favorite Player: Tareq Aziz
Posts: 2,423

I can't believe this!

In UK, I had 7 KBps on Dial-up and at the moment I have 8Mbps OR 1MBps speeds.

Deshey giya kichu kortey hobey tailey!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 31, 2007, 10:22 AM
Hatebreed's Avatar
Hatebreed Hatebreed is offline
BC T-Shirt Design Winner
 
Join Date: June 19, 2005
Location: Camden, London
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 7,200

Quote:
Originally Posted by zahid
I can't believe this!

In UK, I had 7 KBps on Dial-up and at the moment I have 8Mbps OR 1MBps speeds.

Deshey giya kichu kortey hobey tailey!
Run a speed test at speedtest.net and post the auto-generated image here.
__________________
My photography
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 31, 2007, 11:17 AM
Ahsan Ahsan is offline
ODI Cricketer
 
Join Date: December 27, 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 593

thanks Shafin for you details. It's really scary! I was hoping to get at least 128Kbps, looks like that's not gonna happen. Oh man! I was planning to get a vacation of at least month+ and visit BD after 7 years, promising my manager if anything urgent arises I will work from BD. That's not gonna happen I guess

Does anyone else have experience working from home in BD.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 31, 2007, 12:35 PM
zahid zahid is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 28, 2005
Location: Mather nichey
Favorite Player: Tareq Aziz
Posts: 2,423

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatebreed
Run a speed test at speedtest.net and post the auto-generated image here.
kisher speedtest.net?

I use a better one > The INTEL SPEED TEST



It's only showing 3Mbps as I am posting this after 6.

Speeds at my uni are even better! Blistering fast speeds of 10MBps.

*MB = Megabyte
Mb = Megabit
1 Byte = 8 bits
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 31, 2007, 12:38 PM
SideWinder's Avatar
SideWinder SideWinder is offline
First Class Cricketer
 
Join Date: May 26, 2007
Location: Somewhere only we know...
Favorite Player: Shoaib THE MAN Akhtar
Posts: 408

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shafin
When the Submarine cable was opened,everyone hoped for a complete renovation of internet in bangladesh.Truth be told,it had worsened,the speed of dialup has been so pathetic that i needed 10-20 minutes just to open a page,so I've decided to say goodbye to it and look forward.

Now using GP's EDGE, not that great a speed,but at least this is navigable.

So,I believe I'm going to get active again.I did not have net at home for last 5-6 months.

I will try to get a blog also.Which site you would suggest?
I mock you with my 10 meg speed...
__________________
Footballers these days can be immitated; but nothing unique seems to flourish. Not with Ronaldo, he did things which cannot be even done in a video game.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 31, 2007, 12:51 PM
Mr-Cricket's Avatar
Mr-Cricket Mr-Cricket is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: April 8, 2006
Location: Melbourne
Favorite Player: Ricky Ponting
Posts: 1,021

How does this compare?

__________________
Dare to dream.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 31, 2007, 12:58 PM
SideWinder's Avatar
SideWinder SideWinder is offline
First Class Cricketer
 
Join Date: May 26, 2007
Location: Somewhere only we know...
Favorite Player: Shoaib THE MAN Akhtar
Posts: 408

Currently getting 65% of what my connection is fully capable of...scorn.
__________________
Footballers these days can be immitated; but nothing unique seems to flourish. Not with Ronaldo, he did things which cannot be even done in a video game.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 31, 2007, 01:07 PM
Hatebreed's Avatar
Hatebreed Hatebreed is offline
BC T-Shirt Design Winner
 
Join Date: June 19, 2005
Location: Camden, London
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 7,200

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Cricket
How does this compare?

Your download speed is very good, but upload speed sucks.

Here's mine.



I'm sharing my connection with two other computers running simultaneously, usually I get up to 18mbps.

Zahid, try Speedtest anyway. It is way better and accurate.
__________________
My photography
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 31, 2007, 01:10 PM
SMHasan's Avatar
SMHasan SMHasan is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 20, 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 3,061

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shafin
I'd try to elaborate as much as I can.

Presently,bangladesh connects with internet through the 16 GB/s submarine cable,and a lot of ISP's use VSAT's too.T & T has imposed some heavy charges on the cable bandwidth,and there are reports that BTTB can not operate the switches properly,as a result, a big part of this bandwidth capacity remains unused.
No wonder BTTB cannot handle the switches properly. When I was in BD there was not a single university offering Computer Networking, which is a dedicated subject to networking. Besides no one was encouraging to study this type of subject.

But the good thing was in many universities they started Cisco courses like CCNA although the quality of the courses was in quistion. Equipments, teaching staff were not enough in that time. Hope situation is changed now.

How well we will run the system depends on how many quality engineers we are producing. This is a big ask. We need to build a good system consisting of good network engineers, good policies and good administrators.
__________________

ওইখানে আমিও আছি /যেইখানে সূর্য উদয়/প্রিয়দেশ পাল্টে দেবো/তুমি আর আমি বোধহয়/কমরেড, তৈরি থেকো/গায়ে মাখো আলতা বরণ/আমি তুমি আমি তুমি/এভাবেই লক্ষ চরণ
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 31, 2007, 01:12 PM
Mr-Cricket's Avatar
Mr-Cricket Mr-Cricket is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: April 8, 2006
Location: Melbourne
Favorite Player: Ricky Ponting
Posts: 1,021

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatebreed
Your download speed is very good, but upload speed sucks.

Here's mine.



I'm sharing my connection with two other computers running simultaneously, usually I get up to 18mbps.

Zahid, try Speedtest anyway. It is way better and accurate.
That's unbelieveable! Wish young Johnny would get off his arse and upgrade our Broadband services already. Had it up to here with his antics. Grr.
__________________
Dare to dream.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 31, 2007, 01:17 PM
Hatebreed's Avatar
Hatebreed Hatebreed is offline
BC T-Shirt Design Winner
 
Join Date: June 19, 2005
Location: Camden, London
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 7,200

UK ISPs are far behind than most far-eastern countries, and it costs a lot too. Only 3 years ago they charged about £30 for 1mbps connection.
__________________
My photography
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 31, 2007, 01:29 PM
Mr-Cricket's Avatar
Mr-Cricket Mr-Cricket is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: April 8, 2006
Location: Melbourne
Favorite Player: Ricky Ponting
Posts: 1,021

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatebreed
UK ISPs are far behind than most far-eastern countries, and it costs a lot too. Only 3 years ago they charged about £30 for 1mbps connection.
How much do you pay/What sort of plan are you on?

We pay $65AUS per month. That'll get you 12Gb downloads per month (Speed limiting applies after Download limit exceeded) plus a bonus 24Gb downloads between 12am-12pm ("Off-Peak" hours).

For $30AUS more (i.e. $95AUS), it jumps to 20GB per month with another 40GB of bonus downloads.

On top of that, every third billing period is free. So it works out to be just under $50AUS per month for us. Phew.
__________________
Dare to dream.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old May 31, 2007, 01:39 PM
Hatebreed's Avatar
Hatebreed Hatebreed is offline
BC T-Shirt Design Winner
 
Join Date: June 19, 2005
Location: Camden, London
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 7,200

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Cricket
How much do you pay/What sort of plan are you on?

We pay $65AUS per month. That'll get you 12Gb downloads per month (Speed limiting applies after Download limit exceeded) plus a bonus 24Gb downloads between 12am-12pm ("Off-Peak" hours).

For $30AUS more (i.e. $95AUS), it jumps to 20GB per month with another 40GB of bonus downloads.

On top of that, every third billing period is free. So it works out to be just under $50AUS per month for us. Phew.
I'm on this package- https://www.bethere.co.uk/homebroadband.do

Up to 24 meg broadband
Up to 1.3 meg upload speed
Unlimited bandwidth

£20 monthly (through independant dealer). It seems you pay about the same amount.
__________________
My photography
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 31, 2007, 02:21 PM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,090

Quote:
Originally Posted by ISmacker
thanks Shafin for you details. It's really scary! I was hoping to get at least 128Kbps, looks like that's not gonna happen. Oh man! I was planning to get a vacation of at least month+ and visit BD after 7 years, promising my manager if anything urgent arises I will work from BD. That's not gonna happen I guess

Does anyone else have experience working from home in BD.
In Gulshan-Banani there's Optimax that provides cable-modem/. Connection fee was around Tk.8000, and Per month its Tk.1700 for 128kbps dedicated. Its great for Bangladeshi standards, since Grameen's EDGE comes at around 80-90kbps last I heard.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 31, 2007, 03:50 PM
zahid zahid is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 28, 2005
Location: Mather nichey
Favorite Player: Tareq Aziz
Posts: 2,423

I am with Eclipse.

I pay £15 per month.

8Mbps DWNLD speed and 512Kbps Upload speed.

No usage limit. 25 GB limit per month if you use between 6 pm - 8 am.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old May 31, 2007, 06:34 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Cricket Guru
 
Join Date: June 18, 2005
Favorite Player: Rahul Dravid
Posts: 9,026

My first ISP was banglanet in Dhaka back in '99. It was 2.50taka/minute.
__________________
ভাই, ল্যাঞ্জা যখন বাইর হইয়াই গেছে, একটু নাড়ান না
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 31, 2007, 09:02 PM
SMHasan's Avatar
SMHasan SMHasan is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 20, 2005
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 3,061

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammark
In Gulshan-Banani there's Optimax that provides cable-modem/. Connection fee was around Tk.8000, and Per month its Tk.1700 for 128kbps dedicated. Its great for Bangladeshi standards, since Grameen's EDGE comes at around 80-90kbps last I heard.
So how GP is giving internet through EDGE? By mobile phone or 3G data card?
__________________

ওইখানে আমিও আছি /যেইখানে সূর্য উদয়/প্রিয়দেশ পাল্টে দেবো/তুমি আর আমি বোধহয়/কমরেড, তৈরি থেকো/গায়ে মাখো আলতা বরণ/আমি তুমি আমি তুমি/এভাবেই লক্ষ চরণ
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 31, 2007, 09:17 PM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,090

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMHasan
So how GP is giving internet through EDGE? By mobile phone or 3G data card?
Both. My gf used it through her Nokia set... and connected her laptop with USB. The mobile phone was the modem. Problem was that only when she was using the SIM for talking to ppl, EDGE connection would drop off then.

This winter I was trying to sell off a Wifi PCMCIA card, and ppl were calling me asking if it was an EDGE/GPRS Data Card.

On their old website GrameenPhone had a page downloadable, giving instructions on how to set up the handset as a modem on Windows based computers.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old June 1, 2007, 08:31 AM
zahid zahid is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 28, 2005
Location: Mather nichey
Favorite Player: Tareq Aziz
Posts: 2,423

Ashoon shobai milla ekta ISP Business chalo kori deshey. Line neoa jabey from Singapore or Hong Kong.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old June 1, 2007, 09:23 AM
Shafin's Avatar
Shafin Shafin is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: January 31, 2006
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 3,015

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammark
In Gulshan-Banani there's Optimax that provides cable-modem/. Connection fee was around Tk.8000, and Per month its Tk.1700 for 128kbps dedicated. Its great for Bangladeshi standards, since Grameen's EDGE comes at around 80-90kbps last I heard.
I believe this is not the proper speed.This is just not possible,it may be the kbps shown,for instance,my GP EDGE modem shows 230 kbps,but I topped at around 20,but heard people are topping at 100 at some places,it depends on the place of use.However,I found this to be the 2nd best option at this time,after Teletalk,too bad they dont have network at my home.
__________________
The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
BanglaCricket.com
 

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket