facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

 
 


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Miscellaneous > Forget Cricket

Forget Cricket Talk about anything [within Board Rules, of course :) ]

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old June 1, 2007, 03:27 PM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shafin
I believe this is not the proper speed.This is just not possible,it may be the kbps shown,for instance,my GP EDGE modem shows 230 kbps,but I topped at around 20,but heard people are topping at 100 at some places,it depends on the place of use.However,I found this to be the 2nd best option at this time,after Teletalk,too bad they dont have network at my home.
I did the speed test from testmy.net,

the optimax cable modem connects to pc by Ethernet cable, so pc shows 100Mbps connection, but from online speedtest, I got 128kbps download consistently, but upload speed is capped at 32kbps (kilobits... mind you)

about GP Edge my gf used, I had her do the speedtest last summer, before the bulk of people started migrating to GPRS and Edge, it was 80-90kbps (10-12KB/s) then for her.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old June 1, 2007, 04:04 PM
syzygy syzygy is offline
First Class Cricketer
 
Join Date: May 16, 2007
Posts: 436

man it really s[]ks there it seems if wat shafin said is true.in india however we get broadband speed (home connection) of 256 kbps at merely 250 Rs i.e. around 6 usd. if u pay more u ll get much higher speed.bd really needs to improve in the broadband domain
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old July 21, 2007, 10:46 AM
sunnyctg sunnyctg is offline
Club Cricketer
 
Join Date: December 31, 2004
Location: london,England
Posts: 198
Default whats the highest broadband speed in bd?

hi
i dont go bd for a long time. at my time i useto use super slow internet at a cyber cafe...i still remember they split up a dial up connection using router to 10 pc! heheh nyway so i was just wondering how much speed net companies providing these days to households, the highest speed of broadband they have now in bd.. ny one using ?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old July 21, 2007, 11:17 AM
Omio's Avatar
Omio Omio is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: February 25, 2006
Location: London, UK
Favorite Player: Only Ashraful & Me
Posts: 4,429

I think 52 kbps
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old July 21, 2007, 11:39 AM
Ahmed_B's Avatar
Ahmed_B Ahmed_B is offline
BanglaCricket Staff
 
Join Date: February 3, 2004
Posts: 5,566

sunnyctg's thread merged with the previous internet speed discussion thread... for informative discussion.

-Mod
__________________
Well...you only get one chance to make your first impression somewhere...!
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old July 21, 2007, 11:47 AM
goru's Avatar
goru goru is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: April 12, 2006
Location: jinjira
Favorite Player: James Bond
Posts: 2,094

Comcast with Powerboost:







__________________
Dust That Sings

Last edited by goru; July 21, 2007 at 11:55 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old August 16, 2007, 07:30 PM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

While Europe is on the verge of deploying HSUPA, now this.... Pathetic!!

"...the Bangladesh Telecommunications Regulatory Commission, the telecom watchdog in the country, still has no plan to issue license for a 3G service that offers high-speed voice and data transfer speed for mobile phones."

http://www.thedailystar.net/story.php?nid=344
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old August 16, 2007, 08:40 PM
Puck's Avatar
Puck Puck is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 12, 2007
Location: Yonder
Favorite Player: Me
Posts: 2,103

is dsl available in dhaka?
__________________
'immerse your soul in love' - thom yorke
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old August 16, 2007, 11:24 PM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puck
is dsl available in dhaka?
yes, at dialup speeds (in Europe & NA). And I doubt they use the state telephone company's phone line. I have a feeling they probably lay their own copper cables and connect the dsl modem at your end with their switches.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old August 17, 2007, 04:55 AM
Puck's Avatar
Puck Puck is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 12, 2007
Location: Yonder
Favorite Player: Me
Posts: 2,103

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammark
yes, at dialup speeds (in Europe & NA). And I doubt they use the state telephone company's phone line. I have a feeling they probably lay their own copper cables and connect the dsl modem at your end with their switches.
well, dialup speed would be 56k. however, if it is a contant 56k without the line cutting out i could put up with that. although, after being used to a cable modem for the last six or seven years, it would be difficult to get back to 56k again. my brother in laws father has apparently high speed internet at home. i never enquired as to the exact nature of the line, however, if i were to ever return to bangladesh for good, i would certainly require even relatively fast internet.
__________________
'immerse your soul in love' - thom yorke
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old August 17, 2007, 05:06 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

My sister went back to BD after 7 years of enjoying high speed in Canada. She couldnt tolerate our local neighbourhood lan internet connection or the local dial-ups. She currently pays out of her own pocket for a cable modem internet connection. She gets dedicated 128kbps (16KB/s) now.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old August 17, 2007, 10:25 AM
Puck's Avatar
Puck Puck is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 12, 2007
Location: Yonder
Favorite Player: Me
Posts: 2,103

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammark
My sister went back to BD after 7 years of enjoying high speed in Canada. She couldnt tolerate our local neighbourhood lan internet connection or the local dial-ups. She currently pays out of her own pocket for a cable modem internet connection. She gets dedicated 128kbps (16KB/s) now.

128k is actually quite a stark difference from 56k. the first ntlworld modem i had here was 128k and i could not believe how fast everything seemed overnight. since then, there has been gradual speed increases but never that noticeable. since i only use the internet for newsgroups, emails, forums and ocassional photographic work, my needs are not as heavy as those toying with video and music feeds.

if you don't mind me asking, how much is your sister paying per month?
__________________
'immerse your soul in love' - thom yorke
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old August 17, 2007, 10:25 AM
Kana-Baba's Avatar
Kana-Baba Kana-Baba is offline
ODI Cricketer
 
Join Date: January 26, 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Favorite Player: Nannu, Ash, Mash
Posts: 906

folks,
things will dramatically change once WiMax is deployed in Dhaka. There are couple ISPs now working on it (such as Agni). Wimax standard provides high speed internet using wireless link, do not need to go for costly wired line ....... all you need is just a WiMax modem.

Just wait for couple of years.

Here is a link from Motorola who will sale WiMax products to Agni:
http://www.motorola.com/mediacenter/...d=7495_7425_23
__________________
পুরান পাগল ভাত পায় না, আবার নতুন পাগলের আমদানি... সুখ নাই ৱে পাগল!

Last edited by Kana-Baba; August 17, 2007 at 10:31 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old August 17, 2007, 10:28 AM
Puck's Avatar
Puck Puck is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 12, 2007
Location: Yonder
Favorite Player: Me
Posts: 2,103

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kana-Baba
folks, things will dramatically change once WiMax is deployed in Dhaka. There are couple ISPs now working on it (such as Agni). Wimax standard provides high speed internet using wireless link, do not need to go for costly wired line ....... just wait for couple of years.

Here is a link from Motorola:
http://www.motorola.com/mediacenter/...d=7495_7425_23
that is quite excellent news. however, it does mean that i can't really justify moving back for the next 2 years at least!
__________________
'immerse your soul in love' - thom yorke
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old August 17, 2007, 08:21 PM
Sohel's Avatar
Sohel Sohel is offline
Cricket Savant
 
Join Date: April 18, 2007
Location: Dhaka
Favorite Player: Nazimuddin
Posts: 35,415

Both the GP and Citycell mobile Internet are way faster than the dial-up.
__________________
"And do not curse those who call on other than GOD, lest they blaspheme and curse GOD, out of ignorance. We have adorned the works of every group in their eyes. Ultimately, they return to their Lord, then He informs them of everything they had done." (Qur'an 6:108)
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old August 19, 2007, 01:27 AM
Spitfire_x86's Avatar
Spitfire_x86 Spitfire_x86 is offline
Cricket Legend
Fantasy Winner: BD v NZ 2008
 
Join Date: December 17, 2004
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 7,650

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shafin
When the Submarine cable was opened,everyone hoped for a complete renovation of internet in bangladesh.Truth be told,it had worsened,the speed of dialup has been so pathetic that i needed 10-20 minutes just to open a page,so I've decided to say goodbye to it and look forward.

Now using GP's EDGE, not that great a speed,but at least this is navigable.

So,I believe I'm going to get active again.I did not have net at home for last 5-6 months.

I will try to get a blog also.Which site you would suggest?
You are not reporting speed in kbps (kilo BIT per second), but in KB/s (kilo BYTE per second). The proper way of mentioning network speed is Kbps, Mbps, Gbps (not KB/s, MB/s, GB/s)

Dial-up is definately not that bad. Although most of the ISPs still provide 33.6 kbps (around 3.7 KB/s download speed), some have stepped up to 50+ kbps. Sometimes I connect with Onet when my local so called "broadband" goes down. I can almost always connect at 52 kbps (around 6 KB/s download speed). It's actually a bit faster than my local "broadband" ( which is 48 kbps, around 5 KB/s download speed). I have to pay equal to Onet's 24 hour unlimited plan (1200 tk/month) for my "broadband", the only advantage is saving some BTTB phone bill.

Either your dial-up ISP really sucked or your phone line had problems. Otherwise even the worst dial-up ISP will do better than 8 kbps (1 KB/s).

Anyway, request to both you and Sohel_NR, please post your GP / Citycell line speeds (test with testmy.net or bandwidthplace.com). And does GP actually take advantage of EDGE? Is it possible to better than GPRS speed (32 - 48 kbps) using EDGE?

edit:
to Shafin, If you acually got 20 KB/s, then it means you are getting around 160 kbps, which is really great.
__________________
sig?

Last edited by Spitfire_x86; August 19, 2007 at 01:55 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old August 19, 2007, 01:32 AM
Spitfire_x86's Avatar
Spitfire_x86 Spitfire_x86 is offline
Cricket Legend
Fantasy Winner: BD v NZ 2008
 
Join Date: December 17, 2004
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 7,650

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kana-Baba
folks,
things will dramatically change once WiMax is deployed in Dhaka. There are couple ISPs now working on it (such as Agni). Wimax standard provides high speed internet using wireless link, do not need to go for costly wired line ....... all you need is just a WiMax modem.

Just wait for couple of years.

Here is a link from Motorola who will sale WiMax products to Agni:
http://www.motorola.com/mediacenter/...d=7495_7425_23
Agni has already started providing WiMax service. So far it's not really very useful.They are charging 1500 tk per month for 48 kbps, which is same as good dial-up but 25% more expensive.

I can get 256k down/64 up from my local provider, but it's way too expensive (7000 tk/month)
__________________
sig?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old August 19, 2007, 01:47 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire_x86
And does GP actually take advantage of EDGE? Is it possible to better than GPRS speed (32 - 48 kbps) using EDGE?
I am trying to do some digging into this too. From some forum (I dont remember which)... GP's EDGE is faster than GPRS... but not in dhaka city. Basically when their particular base stations have a lot of voice traffic, it hampers data traffic in that area. The people were saying EDGE in Gaibandha or Faridpur was waayyy better than EDGE in Uttara. 20KB/s vs 5-6KB/s.

That forum also had links to a software for Nokia's to choose a particular base station in your vicinity, instead of switching signals to other base stations... and apparently doing so improves data transmission rates as well.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old July 16, 2009, 11:40 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Cricket Guru
 
Join Date: June 18, 2005
Location: AB,Canada
Favorite Player: Rahul Dravid
Posts: 8,990

ইন্টারনেট ব্যান্ডউইডথ এর ফি ৩৩ শতাংশ কমানোর সিদ্ধান্ত

ঢাকা, জুলাই ১৬ (বিডিনিউজ টোয়েন্টিফোর ডটকম)- সাবমেরিন কেবলের ব্যান্ড উইডথ ফি ও ব্যাকহল ফি কমানোর সিদ্ধান্ত নিয়েছে বাংলাদেশ টেলিযোগাযোগ নিয়ন্ত্রণ কমিশন (বিটিআরসি)।

এতে ইন্টারনেট ব্যান্ডউইডথ ফি আগের চেয়ে ৩৩ ভাগ কমবে।

বৃহস্পতিবার বিটিআরসির এক সংবাদ বিজ্ঞপ্তিতে এ তথ্য জানানো হয়।

এতে বলা হয়, প্রতি মেগাবিট/সেকেন্ড ইন্টারনেট ব্যান্ডউইডথ এর মূল্য ২৭০০০ টাকা থেকে কমিয়ে ১৮০০০ হাজার করার সিদ্ধান্ত নেওয়া হয়েছে।

একই সঙ্গে বাংলাদেশ সাবমেরিন কেবল কোম্পানি ওয়েট মেগমেন্ট ব্যান্ডউইডথ মূল্য ১০ শতাংশ কমিয়েছে। ইন্টারনেট অ্যাকসেসের জন্য বাংলাদেশ টেলিকমিউনিকেশন্স কোম্পানি লিমিটেডও অভ্যন্তরীণ ব্যাকহলের মূল্য কমিয়েছে।

টেলিযোগাযোগ সেবা বিশেষত ইন্টারনেট সেবা দেশের প্রত্যন্ত অঞ্চলে ছড়িয়ে দেওয়ার জন্য মন্ত্রণালয়, সরকারি ও বেসরকারি ইন্টারনেট সেবা প্রদানকারী প্রতিষ্ঠানের সঙ্গে আলোচনা করে বিটিআরসি এ সিদ্ধান্ত নিয়েছে বলে ওই বিজ্ঞপ্তিতে বলা হয়।

এ ব্যাপারে বিটিআরসির চেয়ারম্যান অবসরপ্রাপ্ত ব্রিগেডিয়ার জেনারেল জিয়া আহমেদ বলেন, "দেশে সাবমেরিন কেবল সংযোগের সময় এর ব্যান্ডউইডথ মূল্য যথেষ্ট বেশি ছিল। এটি ১৮০০০ টাকায় নামিয়ে আনার কারণে অপারেটররা আরও বেশি ব্যান্ডউইডথ ভাড়া নিয়ে স্বল্পমূল্যে গ্রাহকদের দিতে পারবে।"

এতে দেশে ইন্টারনেট ব্যবহারকারীর সংখ্যা বাড়বে বলেও আশা প্রকাশ করেন তিনি।

বিটিআরসি জানিয়েছে, ব্যান্ডউইডথের দাম কমানোর ফলে আইএসপি ও মোবাইল অপারেটরদের বর্তমান ইন্টারনেট সংযোগ প্যাকেজের ওপর কি ধরনের প্রভাব পড়বে তা পর্যালোচনা করে পরবর্তী নির্দেশ জারি করা হবে।

বাংলাদেশ সাবমেরিন কেবল কোম্পানি লিমিটেডের ব্যবস্থাপনা পরিচালক মনোয়ার হোসেন বিডিনিউজ টোয়েন্টিফোর ডটকমকে বলেন, "ব্যান্ডউইডথ এর দাম কমানোর সুফল যেন জনসাধারণ পায় তার জন্য আইএসপি অপারেটরদের উদ্যোগী হতে হবে।"

বাংলাদেশ এসই-এমই-ডব্লিও-৪ সাবমেরিন কেবল কনসোর্টিয়ামের সঙ্গে যুক্ত। বাংলাদেশের বরাদ্দ ব্যান্ডইউডথ এর পরিমাণ ২৪ গিগাবিট। তবে বর্তমানে ব্যবহার হচ্ছে মাত্র ৮ গিগাবিট। দাম বেশি অভিযোগ করে আইএসপিসহ অন্যরা বেশি ব্যান্ডউইডথ কিনতে অনীহা দেখিয়ে আসছে গ্রাহকদের দুর্বলগতির ইন্টারনেট পাওয়া যার অন্যতম কারণ।


Link
__________________
ভাই, ল্যাঞ্জা যখন বাইর হইয়াই গেছে, একটু নাড়ান না
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old July 17, 2009, 12:53 AM
One World's Avatar
One World One World is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: May 18, 2005
Location: New England
Favorite Player: Charlie Chaplin
Posts: 16,599

Great to know, that will save some hard earned forex.
__________________
Human mind has all the power, when your mind is grind grit wins the battle. Go Bangladesh. Be the world number one in Test Ranking.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
BanglaCricket.com
 

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket