facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

 
 


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Miscellaneous > Forget Cricket

Forget Cricket Talk about anything [within Board Rules, of course :) ]

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 17, 2009, 02:49 PM
djnaved's Avatar
djnaved djnaved is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: October 25, 2007
Favorite Player: Sakib,Rasel,Rajjak,Rakib
Posts: 2,132
Default Mac operating system on non-apple based PC/laptops?

http://iatkos.wikidot.com/

is this possible?

my pc is HP Pavilion Slimline s3700y - Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 2.6 GHz

cholbe?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 17, 2009, 02:54 PM
Akib's Avatar
Akib Akib is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: February 27, 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite Player: Graeme Smith
Posts: 5,856

Not sure if it will work on your computer, and never heard of that link.

But it is possible.

http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Thats the most well known project.
__________________
Photography Gallery
http://akib99.deviantart.com/gallery/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 17, 2009, 03:02 PM
Blah Blah is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: December 8, 2004
Posts: 1,161

Its has been possible for couple of years now: http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Also known as hackintosh. Besides the above wiki you can also check out their forum for support for DIY. http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/

Here is a lifehacker guide in 2007 (might not apply anymore): http://lifehacker.com/software/hack-...800-321913.php

Gizmodo guide made this year hackintosh guide on dell mini netbook. http://gizmodo.com/5156903/how-to-ha...e-os-x-netbook

Also http://psystar.com/ sells non-apple desktop computers with OSX installed.

As for my personal experience, I have tried to install it on one of my computer 2 years ago, with not much luck (I went up to login screen and it started rebooting in a loop). But a lot changed in the last 2 years and its (supposedly) a lot easier. But still not for the faint of heart - if you don't mind tinkering with stuff and have enormous amount of time doing it, you might wanna give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 17, 2009, 03:04 PM
goru's Avatar
goru goru is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: April 12, 2006
Location: jinjira
Favorite Player: James Bond
Posts: 2,094

I have actually run OS X 10.5.something on my built-from-part desktop PC... there's a certain set of hardware that works really well with OSX... for example, it picked up my desktop's Marvell Yukon NIC easily, but failed completely on my HTPC which has a Realtek NIC (I googled around a bit, but just couldn't get it to work).

I only used to use it to link up the firewire port for my old Comcast Scientific-Atlanta HD-DVR box (couldn't get the right STB drivers under Windows XP... and the OSX stb firewire package just worked). But I did play around with it for a bit... was quite nice to see an environment where Quicktime actually worked smoothly and didn't die on 1080p video...

As someone pointed out already, check out the osx86 project forums to get an idea of "ideal hardware" for running OSx86.

EDIT: found a picture on my laptop of that set-up:



(it's a split-screen between OSx86 running on my PC and my HD-DVR box)
__________________
Dust That Sings

Last edited by goru; July 17, 2009 at 03:12 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 17, 2009, 04:50 PM
djnaved's Avatar
djnaved djnaved is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: October 25, 2007
Favorite Player: Sakib,Rasel,Rajjak,Rakib
Posts: 2,132

so now i'm using vista...is it possible that i can use both vista and mac ?

and if i install mac system, my all vista files will erase?

one friend of mine told me that i should download the mac system in torrent sites rather than buying it from the store...........so that i can run it on non-apple pc

so should i download the mac system?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 17, 2009, 05:51 PM
Blah Blah is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: December 8, 2004
Posts: 1,161

Quote:
Originally Posted by djnaved
so now i'm using vista...is it possible that i can use both vista and mac ?

and if i install mac system, my all vista files will erase?

one friend of mine told me that i should download the mac system in torrent sites rather than buying it from the store...........so that i can run it on non-apple pc

so should i download the mac system?
Don't do it IMO. It sounds like you don't understand how this will work.

1st. Apple doesn't allow you to install this on your system. hackintos or OSx86 project is considered illegal by apple .

2nd. You will have to do partitions (with custom boot manager) in your system to make sure you can use both of your OS.

3rd. You can't just buy the cd from apple and install in your system. it won't worked. you will have to download custom hacked installer from torrent sites (will have to research which version MIGHT work on your system, there are many version) Even after you install a hackintosh there is no guarantee that everything will work the way it is supposed or an update won't break your system in the process.

My suggestion is that if you are serious about it, check out the links I (and others) provided and read them thoroughly and see if you understand how it works. Asking here won't do you any good, because, to the best of my knowledge, none of us here is an expert in hackintosh projects. Which gets updated very frequently.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 17, 2009, 06:08 PM
Akib's Avatar
Akib Akib is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: February 27, 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite Player: Graeme Smith
Posts: 5,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by djnaved
so now i'm using vista...is it possible that i can use both vista and mac ?

and if i install mac system, my all vista files will erase?

one friend of mine told me that i should download the mac system in torrent sites rather than buying it from the store...........so that i can run it on non-apple pc

so should i download the mac system?
Its a pretty complicated set up. I highly suggest you do not do it, unless you are good with computers.

And if you do proceed, BACK UP ALL your data. Theres a chance you lose everything.
__________________
Photography Gallery
http://akib99.deviantart.com/gallery/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 17, 2009, 06:54 PM
Zunaid Zunaid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: January 22, 2004
Posts: 21,738

Don't do it unless you have the technical wherewithal.

If you do wish to have a Mac/Windows dual system, I suggest you go the simple, yet a bit more expensive, path of getting a Mac with Parallels.

It has to be an Intel based Mac though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 17, 2009, 08:29 PM
Blah Blah is offline
Test Cricketer
 
Join Date: December 8, 2004
Posts: 1,161

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zunaid
Don't do it unless you have the technical wherewithal.

If you do wish to have a Mac/Windows dual system, I suggest you go the simple, yet a bit more expensive, path of getting a Mac with Parallels.

It has to be an Intel based Mac though.
Agree with Zunaid. I regularly use OSX/windows/linux for my work and the best option for me is to buy a macbook and add windows7 and ubuntu on separate partitions.

Even though the price of macs have come down a bit its still an expensive investment compare to similar hardware. But, for me, it was worth it.

Edit: You could also buy http://psystar.com/ computer as mentioned before (with OSX pre installed). I haven't tried it but I have heard from close friends they are reasonably reliable system. The same system from apple will cost you almost double the price.

Last edited by Blah; July 17, 2009 at 08:35 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 17, 2009, 08:35 PM
djnaved's Avatar
djnaved djnaved is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: October 25, 2007
Favorite Player: Sakib,Rasel,Rajjak,Rakib
Posts: 2,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blah
Don't do it IMO. It sounds like you don't understand how this will work.

1st. Apple doesn't allow you to install this on your system. hackintos or OSx86 project is considered illegal by apple .

2nd. You will have to do partitions (with custom boot manager) in your system to make sure you can use both of your OS.

3rd. You can't just buy the cd from apple and install in your system. it won't worked. you will have to download custom hacked installer from torrent sites (will have to research which version MIGHT work on your system, there are many version) Even after you install a hackintosh there is no guarantee that everything will work the way it is supposed or an update won't break your system in the process.

My suggestion is that if you are serious about it, check out the links I (and others) provided and read them thoroughly and see if you understand how it works. Asking here won't do you any good, because, to the best of my knowledge, none of us here is an expert in hackintosh projects. Which gets updated very frequently.
thanks for advice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
BanglaCricket.com
 

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket