facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

 
 


Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Miscellaneous > Forget Cricket

Forget Cricket Talk about anything [within Board Rules, of course :) ]

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 1, 2010, 07:26 AM
Locke's Avatar
Locke Locke is offline
Street Cricketer
 
Join Date: September 27, 2010
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 16
Default Internet in Bangladesh

This is for BC'ers who live in BD. I'd like to know and discuss about what ISP you use. I perssonally use the BTCL 512kb/s unlimited DSL. I'm very satisfied with it, I get a constant 64kB/s, 24 hours, and so far I have had only 1 day of downtime, for the 6-7 months I've been using it. I pay 1500Tk/month.

Before that I used to use the local 'fraudband' supplied by the 'changra polas' of the local cybercafe, paid 1000Tk/month for a speed of around 30kB/s, and the line would be down for around 10days out of every month, on average. They would never be available to fix it, having switched off their mobiles.

So, what ISP do you use?
__________________
False and doubtful positions, relied upon as unquestionable maxims, keep those who build on them in the dark from truth.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 1, 2010, 08:19 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

I use Agni fiber to the home. Tk.1500 per month incl VAT. I get 512kbps during working hours, and 720 kbps from 8 pm till 8 am. However there's a monthly cap of 6GB upload and 6GB download, after which the speed will be restricted to 64kbps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 1, 2010, 08:29 AM
mac's Avatar
mac mac is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: May 30, 2006
Location: dhaka
Favorite Player: All the Tigers
Posts: 2,630

well, i use smile(bd.com). I pay 1070 incl vat for 512 kbps(shared,get around 30KB/s). I only use it because of its own torrent site. Anything i need to download i get it from there with speed over 700 kBps. Its still slow if i consider download speed provided by other isps' lan server but the contents on that torrent site is huge.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 1, 2010, 08:38 AM
auntu's Avatar
auntu auntu is offline
Cricket Guru
 
Join Date: March 7, 2007
Location: elsewhere
Favorite Player: ZAR
Posts: 9,848

Good thread. I was looking forward for these infos.

I'm using GP. Now a days absolutely rubbish. Thinking about Qbee now a days as I use 1 laptop and a PC, I want to have net connections for both of them. Any suggestion on that?

I'm also planing for my office net connections. I've 3 PCs there. Guys can you suggest on that too?
__________________
﴾اَلَاۤ اِنَّ اَوۡلِيَآءَ اللّٰهِ لَا خَوۡفٌ عَلَيۡهِمۡ وَلَا هُمۡ يَحۡزَنُوۡنَ ۖ ۚ‏ ﴿۶۲
"Listen, the friends of Allah shall have no fear, nor shall they grieve" (Yunus: 62)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 1, 2010, 08:50 AM
Locke's Avatar
Locke Locke is offline
Street Cricketer
 
Join Date: September 27, 2010
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by auntu
Good thread. I was looking forward for these infos.

I'm using GP. Now a days absolutely rubbish. Thinking about Qbee now a days as I use 1 laptop and a PC, I want to have net connections for both of them. Any suggestion on that?

I'm also planing for my office net connections. I've 3 PCs there. Guys can you suggest on that too?
Qubee doesn't offer a USB dongle, only an indoor unit. So you would not be able to use your laptop's internet outside the house, which IMHO takes away the advantage of having a laptop. You would only be able to use your laptop and computer connected by Ethernet with your Wimax modem. Banglalion, on the other hand, offer a USB dongle, which you can plug into your laptop anywhere, where there is Banglalion coverage.

I don't know if you can use a generic WiMax USB dongle with qubee or banglalion. Since Wimax is a standard, you should be able to, but I haven't tried it myself so can't advise you.

For your office connections, you might want to choose a professional ISP. My brother-in-law's office uses a 3Mbps BTCL fiber optic link. But its expensive.
__________________
False and doubtful positions, relied upon as unquestionable maxims, keep those who build on them in the dark from truth.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 1, 2010, 09:47 AM
al-Sagar's Avatar
al-Sagar al-Sagar is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: December 23, 2007
Location: The Quiet Place
Favorite Player: Curtly Ambrose
Posts: 22,371

i am using BTCL ADSL 1Mbps unlimited. its costs 2250 TK per month

i get DL speed about 120kBps. i have also installed a LINKSYS wireless Router so i share this line at home PC and 3 laptops of me, mt sis and my father.

besides when i go outside of DHAKA i use GP EDGE.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 1, 2010, 09:50 AM
al-Sagar's Avatar
al-Sagar al-Sagar is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: December 23, 2007
Location: The Quiet Place
Favorite Player: Curtly Ambrose
Posts: 22,371

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locke
Qubee doesn't offer a USB dongle, only an indoor unit. So you would not be able to use your laptop's internet outside the house, which IMHO takes away the advantage of having a laptop. You would only be able to use your laptop and computer connected by Ethernet with your Wimax modem. Banglalion, on the other hand, offer a USB dongle, which you can plug into your laptop anywhere, where there is Banglalion coverage.

I don't know if you can use a generic WiMax USB dongle with qubee or banglalion. Since Wimax is a standard, you should be able to, but I haven't tried it myself so can't advise you.

For your office connections, you might want to choose a professional ISP. My brother-in-law's office uses a 3Mbps BTCL fiber optic link. But its expensive.
i think qubee is currently offering USB dongles.

check the link http://www.qubee.com.bd/get-qubee/devices
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 1, 2010, 09:53 AM
al-Sagar's Avatar
al-Sagar al-Sagar is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: December 23, 2007
Location: The Quiet Place
Favorite Player: Curtly Ambrose
Posts: 22,371

Quote:
Originally Posted by auntu
Good thread. I was looking forward for these infos.

I'm using GP. Now a days absolutely rubbish. Thinking about Qbee now a days as I use 1 laptop and a PC, I want to have net connections for both of them. Any suggestion on that?

I'm also planing for my office net connections. I've 3 PCs there. Guys can you suggest on that too?
check the packages of Qubee and Banglalion and also BTCL ADSL if u have a BTCL ( formerTNT) land Phone. jodio apnader area er TNT er tar, box and exchange er upore ADSL er connection er speed vary kore. apnader area te kee obostha ektu investigate kore nite hobe

office e tnt phone thakle BTCL ADSL nite paren. sathe ekta router lagay pura office share korte parben.

tnt na thakle then qubee or banglalink dekhen.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 1, 2010, 11:22 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

Quote:
Originally Posted by auntu
as I use 1 laptop and a PC, I want to have net connections for both of them. Any suggestion on that?
Depending on how much you want to spend on internet bill, and what you use it for. I would suggest getting a land line for the home, especially if you skype and do voice calls, and buying a Tk3000 wi-fi/wireless router so that you can share both pc and laptop with that 1 internet connection. Laptops have built in wireless, and pc can use the ethernet cable from the wi-fi router.

Quote:
I'm also planing for my office net connections. I've 3 PCs there. Guys can you suggest on that too?
Same suggestion, get a landline connection if you need to use voice calls/skype and a router to split between the pcs.

The reason I suggest land lines like BTCL or Agni is because through WiMax, the latency between your pc and their base station is large, and voice calls/ video calls continually drop. Whereas by land lines, latency (ping response) is much faster, allowing for smooth connection for voice and video.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 1, 2010, 03:41 PM
RazabQ's Avatar
RazabQ RazabQ is offline
Moderator
BC Editorial Team
 
Join Date: February 25, 2004
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 10,144

What would you recommend for someone who's going to Dhaka for two weeks and will likely have 1-2 laptops (me, wife) to be used for work purposes?

Qbee with dongle or Grameen card?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 1, 2010, 04:18 PM
mac's Avatar
mac mac is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: May 30, 2006
Location: dhaka
Favorite Player: All the Tigers
Posts: 2,630

Quote:
Originally Posted by RazabQ
What would you recommend for someone who's going to Dhaka for two weeks and will likely have 1-2 laptops (me, wife) to be used for work purposes?

Qbee with dongle or Grameen card?
Qbee, GP EDGE(15~20 kBps) will be annoying for anyone who is used to faster net speed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 1, 2010, 05:06 PM
MohammedC MohammedC is offline
BanglaCricket Staff
 
Join Date: April 15, 2007
Location: Manchester,UK
Favorite Player: bhujee kom
Posts: 22,445

@RazabQ buy a grameen edge modem for about 3000 taka or use pc suite. I asked same question back in January. Got a very helpful information from Nocturnal. I hope you will find it helpful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MohammedC
Is it possible to connect to internet using nokia pc suite in Bangladesh?

If not what is the best way to get mobile internet?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal
The best way to get internet anywhere in BD IMO:

1. Buy a Grameen Phone (GP) Pre-paid Sim for tk 150 from any GP center. You can also buy it from your "Parar mobile dokan" for around 200 tk.
2. Now if you wanna use internet in your mobile then just send "activate internet SMS" from the below or call 121 and ask them to activate it for you and will get instruction how to enable it in your set. it's super Easy.
3. Now if you wanna use it in your laptop- you still need to send "activate internet SMS" or call 121 and ask them to activate it for you - Now you need a EDGE Modem and which you can buy it from Elephant road (tk 3000 around) or use your Nokia phone as a EDGE modem (need nokia pc suite software).


Useful things to know:
Monthly internet Package -
P5 ----> 3GB/ month - 810 tk
- P6 -----> 1GB - 350 tk ---------> I normally use this, not much download, just regular use 24/7- enough!
Usage Check SMS: *566*10#
GP 24/7 Customer Care# 121 (from any GP number)
To activate internet SMS:
P5 >> send >> 5000
P6>>send>>5000
Billing Cycle: 30 days
Sylhet does not have the best coverage but I was able to get 250kb using edge and 450kb using Nokia PC suite.
__________________
I love Bangladesh cricket and that's why I found BanglaCricket.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 1, 2010, 08:58 PM
al-Sagar's Avatar
al-Sagar al-Sagar is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: December 23, 2007
Location: The Quiet Place
Favorite Player: Curtly Ambrose
Posts: 22,371

Quote:
Originally Posted by RazabQ
What would you recommend for someone who's going to Dhaka for two weeks and will likely have 1-2 laptops (me, wife) to be used for work purposes?

Qbee with dongle or Grameen card?
just for fun .... i suggest you buy a 512 kpbs Banglalion wimax with Usb dongle, pay 6 months bill in advance and when go back u hand it over to me.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:59 AM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Cricket Guru
 
Join Date: June 18, 2005
Location: AB,Canada
Favorite Player: Rahul Dravid
Posts: 8,990

Razab bhai - as Mo bhai said you can use the GP edge connection. Easy and you can use it anywhere. slow though! If you happen to buy edge modem - save it for your next trip!
__________________
ভাই, ল্যাঞ্জা যখন বাইর হইয়াই গেছে, একটু নাড়ান না
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 2, 2010, 01:24 AM
Rabz's Avatar
Rabz Rabz is offline
BanglaCricket Staff
BC - Bangladesh Representative
 
Join Date: February 28, 2005
Location: Here
Favorite Player: Father of BD Cricket
Posts: 20,480

Sagar bhai, can you please a give me a bit more info about BTCL ADSL ?
Tk 2250 unlimited for 1 Mbps sounds a good deal.
How is there service? Do you get uninterrupted service round the clock??
Do BTCL even have a "customer service" dept where u can call and lodge ur complain if u r, for some reason, disconnected or experiencing problems??
__________________
Verily, in the remembrance of Allah do hearts find rest [Al-Qur'an,13:28]
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 2, 2010, 03:41 AM
al-Sagar's Avatar
al-Sagar al-Sagar is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: December 23, 2007
Location: The Quiet Place
Favorite Player: Curtly Ambrose
Posts: 22,371

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabz
Sagar bhai, can you please a give me a bit more info about BTCL ADSL ?
Tk 2250 unlimited for 1 Mbps sounds a good deal.
How is there service? Do you get uninterrupted service round the clock??
Do BTCL even have a "customer service" dept where u can call and lodge ur complain if u r, for some reason, disconnected or experiencing problems??
ok rabiul bhai.

BTCL ADSL is actually a joint venture of BTCL and EMEM SYSTEMS. EMEM SYSTEMS is responsible for sales and service. so far i havent experienced any problems but i heard from others that EMEM sysytems is very efficient in customer service. a phone call and they give quick service.

to get an ADSL connection first of all u must have a BTCL land phone line. also a good noise free line is essential. this depends on how far ur local TNT BOX is from ur home and how far ur exchange is from the box and also how good the wire is and if there is fewer joints in the wire. IF U R LUCKY with all these factors then u will get a very good connection. u have to contact others users in ur area to find out how good the line is in ur area.

as far as i remember it takes 400 tk as subscription fee. and 2500-3200 for the modem provided by EMEM. u can also opt to by a modem or modem+router by ur choice. after submitting ur application TNT will first check ur line and may make some repairs in ur line and then give EMEM system the clearance. it takes 7 days in this process. then when EMEM gets the green signal, they will do the rest of the work in 2 days. anyway if u have connection with an EXECUTIVE ENGINEER of local TNT exchange the process of 7 days can be done in 2 days and also any necessary rectification needed to improve ur telephone line.

also initially u may experience some problem with the stability of the ADSL signal but it becomes OK in 10-15 days.

also one technical fact that a lot of ppl asked me . U WILL USE THE SAME WIRE OF UR TELEPHONE FOR THE BROAD BAND AND U CAN USE BOTH AT THE SAME TIME WITHOUT ANY INTERRUPTION.

for more info
http://www.bcube.net.bd/
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 2, 2010, 04:11 AM
Razi's Avatar
Razi Razi is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: March 8, 2008
Location: BanglaCricket.com
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 4,684

You guys can test your internet speed here in speedtest.net, and can share your speed by the image link of your result, here is mine below:

__________________
''I go out to field as if I'm entering the boxing ring and there's no place for the guy who comes second best there.''
– Shakib Al Hasan, World's No-1 Allrounder
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 2, 2010, 05:26 AM
Rabz's Avatar
Rabz Rabz is offline
BanglaCricket Staff
BC - Bangladesh Representative
 
Join Date: February 28, 2005
Location: Here
Favorite Player: Father of BD Cricket
Posts: 20,480

Thanks a lot Sagar bhai.
I did actually checked that website u'v mentioned after i posted here and its great to hear from an user cuz that gives me a better picture.

Now im seriously seriously thinking of taking the BTCL line. My nearest TNT Exchange is at Moghbazar, so very very close from my home, so i guess thats also another positive points.

I'll give ya call later on if i needed to ask anything more.
Thanks heaps again.
__________________
Verily, in the remembrance of Allah do hearts find rest [Al-Qur'an,13:28]
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 2, 2010, 07:19 AM
al-Sagar's Avatar
al-Sagar al-Sagar is offline
Cricket Sage
 
Join Date: December 23, 2007
Location: The Quiet Place
Favorite Player: Curtly Ambrose
Posts: 22,371



Last edited by al-Sagar; October 2, 2010 at 07:25 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 2, 2010, 10:03 AM
Razi's Avatar
Razi Razi is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: March 8, 2008
Location: BanglaCricket.com
Favorite Player: Mashrafe Mortaza
Posts: 4,684

__________________
''I go out to field as if I'm entering the boxing ring and there's no place for the guy who comes second best there.''
– Shakib Al Hasan, World's No-1 Allrounder
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old October 2, 2010, 10:40 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

Since everyone's doing the "my internet p***s is bigger than yours" thing, here's mine...



for comparison's sake speedtest.net's dhaka server is alright; but a truly representative result will come if we were to choose a server in the US.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old October 2, 2010, 10:44 AM
iDumb iDumb is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 18, 2010
Location: NYC
Favorite Player: Di Caprio
Posts: 2,570


Last edited by iDumb; October 2, 2010 at 10:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old October 2, 2010, 10:50 AM
ammark's Avatar
ammark ammark is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 17, 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,079

Quote:
Originally Posted by iDumb
I have a big schlong
Doesn't count. You're not in BD. For purposes of this discussion, your internet is impotent.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old October 2, 2010, 10:51 AM
iDumb iDumb is offline
Cricket Legend
 
Join Date: June 18, 2010
Location: NYC
Favorite Player: Di Caprio
Posts: 2,570

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammark
Since everyone's doing the "my internet p***s is bigger than yours" thing....
bigger is not always better :p
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old October 2, 2010, 02:29 PM
auntu's Avatar
auntu auntu is offline
Cricket Guru
 
Join Date: March 7, 2007
Location: elsewhere
Favorite Player: ZAR
Posts: 9,848

Thanks a lot for the great informations and suggestions from you guys. This is the power of BC.
I'm convinced by the idea of BTCL line for both home and office use. But Ammar's Agni's report is showing that is faster!

This is my 'Lotha GP's result:

__________________
﴾اَلَاۤ اِنَّ اَوۡلِيَآءَ اللّٰهِ لَا خَوۡفٌ عَلَيۡهِمۡ وَلَا هُمۡ يَحۡزَنُوۡنَ ۖ ۚ‏ ﴿۶۲
"Listen, the friends of Allah shall have no fear, nor shall they grieve" (Yunus: 62)

Last edited by auntu; October 2, 2010 at 02:49 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
BanglaCricket.com
 

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket