facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, 2007


Bangladesh opt for experience in Colombo Test

24 June 2007

Bangladesh team management has kept their belief on struggling wicket keeper Khaled Mashud despite his poor show in the only practice match and named him in the playing XI for the first Test in Colombo. Bangladesh have left out Mehrab Hossain Jr., Syed Rasel, Mohammad Sharif and Mushfiqur Rahim from the 15 man squad.

Bangladesh pace spearhead Mashrafe Mortaza regained his
 Ashraful's innings as Bangladesh Captain will start tomorrow in Colombo Test

Ashraful's innings as Bangladesh Captain will start tomorrow in Colombo Test © Cricinfo

fitness ahead of the first Test which will start at Sinhalese Sports Club Ground in Colombo tomorrow. However concern remained over the fitness of opening batsman Javed Omar who is suffering from viral fever.

Bangladesh named Mehrab Hossain Jr. as his backup and he will make his Test debut if Javed fails to recover in time. "Javed has been suffering from fever since the last day of the three-day warm up game against Sri Lanka A. He did not train yesterday (Saturday) but is expected to practice today. We will decide whether he would play or not after the practice session," said the newly appointed selector Akram Khan who is in Colombo for the Test series.

"If Javed is unable to play then Mehrab would come in and open the batting," he added.

Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardane promised a professional display against the touring side in their first home Test in 12 months. Sri Lanka have named 12 man squad for leaving out Malinga Bandara and Sujeewa De Silva from the 14 member squad.

Bangladesh (from): Shahriar Nafees Ahmed, Javed Omer, Rajin Saleh, Habibul Bashar, Mohammad Ashraful (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Khaled Mashud (Wicketkeeper), Mohammed Rafique, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Vice-Captain), Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain Rajib.12th man - Mehrab Hossain (Jr.)

Sri Lanka (from): Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Michael Vandort, Malinda Warnapura, Kumar Sangakkara, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Prasanna Jayawardene, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dilhara Fernando, Farveez Maharoof

  • Khondaker Mirazur Rahman


This page has been viewed 1400 times.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket