facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, 2007


Jayasuriya stars in Sri Lanka win

Sri Lanka trounced Bangladesh by 5 wickets inside 32 overs in the second ODI to obtain an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match Laqshya series at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo today.

Bangladesh top order displayed their familiar collapse after Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and sent Bangladesh in. After losing 4 wickets for a mere 26 runs, Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful and middle order batsman Aftab Ahmed tried to steady Bangladesh innings and formed a 61 run partnership in the fifth wicket.

Bangladesh lost their captain at the score of 87 when Ashraful unnecessarily poked at a Jayasuriya delivery and could only manage to guide the ball to waiting gloves of Sangakkara. Bangladesh again lost their way and finally were bundled out for a meager 137 in 46.5 overs.

Aftab Ahmed top scored for Bangladesh with 47 runs while 7 Bangladeshi batsmen returned to the pavilion with single digit score. Sanath Jayasuriya was the pick of the Sri Lanka attack and grabbed 4 wickets for 31 runs to complete 300 wickets in one day international. Lasith Malinga produced an impressive opening spell and bagged 3 wickets for 22 runs.

Bangladesh bowlers bowled to their heart out to create some sort of competitiveness but 137 runs were too little to resist experienced Sri Lanka batting line up. After reducing Sri Lanka to 79-4, Bangladesh failed to press on and Sri Lanka finally reached home comfortably losing 5 wickets in 31.1 overs.

Syed Rasel was the most successful Bangladeshi bowler and bagged 2 wickets for 39 runs while Shadadat, Razzak and Ashraful grabbed one wicket each.

Bangladesh will play the 3rd and final ODI on 25th July at the same venue.

  • Khondaker Mirazur Rahman


This page has been viewed 2060 times.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket