facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, 2007


Sri Lanka announce Test and ODI squads

13 June 2007

Cricket Sri Lanka have declared the squads for the three match Test and ODI series against Bangladesh later this month. Left handed opening batsman Malinda Warnapura, who had a successful stint with Sri Lanka A team, is the only new face in the Test squad.

Sri Lankan selectors rested ace opening batsman Sanath Jayasuriya for the series and recalled former captain Marvan Atapattu and leg spinner Upul Chandana after almost two years.
Marvan Atapattu recalled in the Test squad after a break of 18 months

Marvan Atapattu recalled in the Test squad after a break of 18 months © Cricinfo

Left arm seamer Sujeewa De Silva, who had a very successful series against Bangladesh in 2002, has been recalled to the Test squad.

Sri Lanka A team captain Jehan Mubarak is named in the ODI squad along with Chamara Kapugedera who missed out his place in the Test squad.

Mahela Jayawardane, who recently led Asia XI in the Afro-Asia cup, will lead both the sides and Kumar Sangakkara will act as his deputy.

Sri Lankan selectors have opted for a full strength team ending speculations about testing young and promising players in the home series against Bangladesh. The tour will kick off with a three day warm up match on 20th June at Colts Cricket Ground in Colombo. The first Test of the series will start on 25th June at Sinhalese Sports Club Ground also in the Sri Lankan capital.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Upul Tharanga, Marvan Atapattu, Kumar Sangakkara, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Malinga Bandara, Malinda Warnapura, Sujeewa de Silva.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Jehan Mubarak, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Farveez Maharoof, Upul Chandana, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Kapugedera, Malinga Bandara, Nuwan Kulasekera.

  • Khondaker Mirazur Rahman


This page has been viewed 1346 times.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket