facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, 2007


Tigers take off for Colombo

16 June 2007

The 15 player squad of Bangladesh team, along with 7 staff members, have left for Colombo last evening. They boarded on the plane at Zia International Airport, where members of the team management were present to see them off. The remaining 5 players will join the team during the third Test to play in the One Day Internationals. Ex-captain Akram Khan, who is a new selector for the team, is also accompanying them to Sri Lanka. They are scheduled to reach Colombo on June 17 morning, and plan to hit the nets for a practice session soon after reaching.

The Tigers are on a 40 day tour of Sri Lanka, where they will play three Tests and three One Day Internationals against the host. They will also play a three-day warm-up match at Colts starting June 20, and a one day warm-up match at Colombo on July 18.

Tigers filling out the embarkation cards at Zia International Airport before leaving for Sri Lanka ? DailyStar

Tigers intend to bounce back in this series after a mediocre performance against India in May of this year. Ashraful is hopeful for a better performance even though the team has received only a few days of practice. ?If we can play until the 5th day in the Test matches, I will consider that as a definite improvement? said the young captain. ?We are more concerned about our performance than the match results?, added Ashraful. Sri Lanka is not new to Ashraful, since he played in both the previous series when Bangladesh toured Sri Lanka.

This tour is the first assignment for the newly appointed captain Mohammad Ashraful, and also his deputy, Mashrafe Bin Murtoza. The team also has a new (interim) coach, Shaun Williams.

The 15 member squad:
Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe Bin Murtoza (vice-captain), Habibul Bashar, Javed Omar, Mehrab Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Rajin Saleh, Sakib al Hassan, Khaled Mashud, Shahadat Hussain, Syed Rasel, Mohammad Rafiq, Abdur Razzak, Mohammad Sharif, Mushfiqur Rahim.

Accompanying staff members:
Shaun Williams (coach), Sarwar Imran (assistant coach), Mohammad Salauddin (fielding coach), Paul Close (physio), Paul Chapman (trainer), Nasiruddin Nasu (computer analyst).

Tour schedule:
June 20-22 - Warm-up match at Colts
June 25-29 - 1st Test, Colombo (R. Premadasa Stadium)
July 3-7 - 2nd Test, Colombo (Saravanamuttu Stadium)
July 11-15 - 3rd Test, Kandy
July 18 - One-day warm-up match, Colombo (NCC)
July 20 - 1st ODI, Colombo (Saravanamuttu Stadium)
July 22 - 2nd ODI, Colombo (R Premadasa Stadium)
July 24 - 3rd ODI, Colombo (R Premadasa Stadium)

  • From Internet by Imran Kabir


This page has been viewed 1374 times.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket