facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


India in Bangladesh, 2007


Bangladesh announce ODI Squad for India series

30 April 2007

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have announced a 14 member ODI squad for up-coming 3 match home series against India in a media conference at a local hotel today (Monday).

Habibul Bashar is retained as the captain of the side amid growing speculation about his retirement from ODI. It is learnt that Bashar is set to retire from ODI after the India series and he will declare his decision very soon. Bashar will continue playing test matches and will lead Bangladesh in longer version of the game.

 Mohammad Ashraful, the future ODI captain of Bangladesh.

Mohammad Ashraful, the future ODI captain of Bangladesh © Cricinfo

Mohammad Ashraful is appointed as the new vice captain of Bangladesh ODI team and is likely to take the captaincy of the ODI team after the retirement of Bashar. Former vice-captain Shahriar Nafees managed to retain his place in the squad after a forgettable world cup in which he scored only 29 runs from 5 innings but failed to retain vice-captaincy.

The selectors have retained all players of the world cup squad except Rajin Saleh who hasn?t played a single match in the world cup.

The series starts in Dhaka with the first and second ODIs on May 10 and 12 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur. The third and final match will be played at Bir Shrestha Shahid Ruhul Amin Stadium in Chittagong on May 15.

The test squad will be declared after the completion of ODI series which starts on 10th May. Bangladesh will be playing test after a one year break, they played their last Test in April last year against Australia at home.

Bangladesh ODI squad:

Habibul Bashar (capt), Mohammad Ashraful (vice-capt), Javed Omar, Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Saqibul Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza, Syed Rasel, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Mohammad Rafique, Farhad Reza.

  • Khondaker Mirazur Rahman

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket