facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


India in Bangladesh, 2007


India arrive Dhaka for GrameenPhone series.

7 May 2007

A 15-member Indian cricket team, led by captain Rahul Dravid, arrived Dhaka amidst heavy security in the early Monday morning to play GremeenPhone ODI and Test series against Bangladesh.

India's coach-cum-manager Ravi Shastri Monday promised to play hard cricket against Bangladesh in the one-day series beginning on May 10.

 It's not a revenge series - Dravid

It's not a revenge series - Dravid © Reuters

"We know how well Bangladesh played in the World Cup and there is a very clear message for Bangladesh. We came here to play hard cricket," said Shastri on arrival at Zia International Airport, Dhaka.

The Indian skipper Rahul Dravid, who is expecting to be fit before the first ODI, said all the players are eagerly awaiting the series and he expects it to be an interesting one. "I am looking forward to this tour in Bangladesh. I strongly believe, we've the capability to perform well and it is going to be an interesting series," he said.

"I have told the players that the main challenge is to bring out our best performance. All the players are eagerly waiting for this series and I am sure they will prove their worth," Dravid added.

He however dismissed the talk of revenge and promised to play some positive cricket in their first outing after their world cup debacle.

"I don't really believe in revenge and there is no place for it in our book. What has a place is for us to show the true potential and play really very good cricket. And I think that's what we are looking to do here," said Dravid.

India will play the first two one-dayers in Dhaka on May 10 and May 12 and the third one in Chittagong on May 15.

India ODI Squad

Rahul Dravid (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, M S Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Manoj Tiwari, Dinesh Mongia, Piyush Chawla, S Sreesanth, Munaf Patel, Zahir Khan and R P Singh.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket