facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


ICC World Cup, 2007


Australia wins World Cup 2007

28 April 2007

Australia has made history by winning the world cup 2007 at Kensignton Oval in Barbados Today. They defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs (D/L) to secure a unique treble and emerged as the unbeaten champion of world cup 2007.

BanglaCricket is congratulating both Australia and Sri Lanka for their outstanding achievements

Adam Gilchrist smashed 149 - the highest individual score in a World Cup final - to propel Australia to 281-4 from their allotted 38 overs before the champions restricted Sri Lanka to 215 for eight in extremely bad light.

Sri Lanka, champions in 1996, were set a revised target of 269 off 36 overs under the Duckworth-Lewis system after rain halted play for 12 minutes during their run chase.

Sri Lanka were in the hunt or their second world cup glory until 19.4 overs when Jayasuriya and Sangakkara shared a 116 run 2nd wicket partnership. Ater the departure of Sangakkara Sri Lanka lost their way amid cloudy weather and threats of rain.

The match finally ended in a farce as lights were offered to Sri Lankan batsmen with 3 overs to go and they accepted it and the players were told to play the remaining 3 overs in the following day .

A regulatory blunder resulted in last 3 overs being played in almost darkness with spinners operating to avoid any potential injury to the batsmen. Finally the Australian celebrated their world cup treble without being tested in the world cup for a single match.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket