facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


South Africa in Bangladesh, 2007-08


BCB announces squad for the home series against South Africa

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 17-member national squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa. As expected, Mohammad Ashraful will lead the squad with Mashrafe Bin Mortaza his deputy.

Veteran SLA Mohammad Rafique is back in the squad while Javed Omar, Tushar Imran, Nazmul Hossain and Mehrab Hossain from the recent New Zealand tour squad have been omitted. According to chief selector Rafiqul Islam the decision to drop Omar was because “Tamim [Iqbal] and Zunaed [Siddiqe] both showed their considerable potential in New Zealand. The two openers shared a record 161-run first-wicket partnership in the first Test against New Zealand last January.

Bangladesh will play two Tests and three ODIs against the visitors and the final squad for the Test series will be named later.

Khaled Mashud, the veteran wicketkeeper, has been named as one of the 6 reserves. All the players excepting the reserves have been advised to report to national coach Jamie Siddons at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka from February 9, 2008.

Squad Mohammad Ashraful (capt), Habibul Bashar, Aftab Ahmed, Junaid Siddique, Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (vice-capt), Shahadat Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sajidul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Rajin Saleh, Farhad Reza, Abdur Razzak, Enamul Haque jnr, Mohammed Rafique, Syed Rasel.

Reserves Khaled Mashud, Nazimuddin, Talha Jubair, Dolar Mahmud, Mahmudullah, Rubel Hossain.
Meanwhile, the BCB also announced a 14-member squad for the three-day (Feb 17-19) tour game against South Africa to be held at the Narayanganj Osmani Stadium (NOS).

Tour game squad: Junaid Siddique, Shahriar Nafees, Nazimuddin, Rajin Saleh, Shakib Al Hasan, Aftab Ahmed, Mushfiqur Rahim, Enamul Haque jnr, Sajidul Islam, Talha Jubair, Farhad Reza, Syed Rasel, Roqibul Hassan, Habibul Bashar.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket