facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Bangladesh in West Indies, 2009


Test cap for Rubel Hossain and Mahmudullah Riyad

09 July 2009

Teenage pace sensation Rubel Hossain and young all-rounder Mahmudullah Riyad are set to make debuts in the first Test of the two match Test series against West Indies at St Vincent which starts today. Bangladesh have named the same playing XI that faced the West Indies A team in the only tour match of the series.

Fast boowler Rubel Hossain will join skipper Mashrafe Mortaza and lanky paceman Shahadat Hossain to form the pace trio while Mahmudullah Riyad will assist Shakib Al Hasan in the spin department.

Bangladesg will face a depleted West Indies side in the opening Test following a boycott by the West Indies Players' Association (WIPA) which represented the regular West Indies squad. The new look West Indies team has got as many as eight players from Barbados and will be led by top-order batsman Floyd Reifer of Barbados who played four Tests between 1997 and 1999 for West Indies.

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza was disappointed over the developments but looking forward to the Test series to get a positive start.
“Obviously we wanted to test ourselves against the full-strength West Indies team. Facing up to the likes of (Chris) Gayle, (Shivnarine) Chanderpaul, (Ramnaresh) Sarwan and (Dwyane) Bravo would have been a different challenge and we were looking forward to that. But it (the situation) is not within our control. We are nevertheless focused on our job which is to play Test cricket and I am expecting total commitment from the players,” said Mortaza.

West Indies coach John Dyson remained positive despite the withdrawal by the top players and also heaped praise for the Bangladesh cricket team.
"It's going to be an exciting time. We'll just have to do our best, won't we? But this is the way it goes in professional sport these days. We've got a new group of players, there's some exciting players amongst them and it's going to be an interesting series," said Dyson. "Bangladesh are not an easy cricket team. They have played some good cricket in the last 12 months, they are an improving team. So we'll have our hands full to do well against them," he added.


BANGLADESH: Masrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Zunaed Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Roqibul Hassan, Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Mahmud Ullah, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain. 12th man – Mehrab Hossain Jr.

WEST INDIES (From): Floyd Reifer (Captain), Omar Phillips, Dale Richards, Travis Dowlin, Chadwick Walton (Wicketkeeper), Darren Sammy (Vice Captain), Kemar Roach, Ryan Austin, Tino Best, Kevin McClean, Nelon Pascal, Andre Creary, Nikita Miller, Kraigg Brathwaite, David Bernard.

Umpires: Tony Hill (New Zealand) & Asoka De Silva (Sri Lanka)

TV Umpire: Norman Malcolm (West Indies)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket