facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search


Bangladesh in Zimbabwe, 2009


Shakib scripts comfortable win

11 August 2009

Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan led his team from the front with a brilliant all-round display yet another time and Bangladesh took a 2-0 lead over Zimbabwe as they defeated the hosts by 49 runs in the 2nd ODI at Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo today. Chasing a mammoth victory target of 321 in 50 Overs, Zimbabwe gave it a shot with some entertaining stroke play, but at the end got bundled out for 271 runs in 46.1 overs.

Sent to bat by Zimbabwe skipper Prosper Utseya, Bangladesh responded brilliantly with useful contributions from top and middle order batsmen before Shakib set Bangladesh innings ablaze with delightful stroke play.

Shakib hammered a 64 ball 104 and Tamim Iqbal scored a classy 79 to help Bangladesh post their highest total in ODIs. Shakib brought up his ton in just 63 balls which is the 9th fastest century in ODI history. This is Shakib's 3rd century in one day internationals.

For Bangladesh, Zunaid (27 off 41), Ashraful (22 off 33), Raqibul (35 off 28) and Mushfiqur (23 off 18) chipped in with handy contributions as Bangladesh posted an imposing total on a batting friendly wicket. Four Bangladesh batsmen were run out as they pushed hard to accelerate the run rate.

For Zimbabwe, Charles Coventry (61 off 64 balls) and Sean Williams (75 off 71 balls) put up a strong fight but at the end the total proved to be out of reach for the hosts. Elton Chigumbura (20 ball 31) provided some late entertainment before being run out as the last batsman.

Shakib was again the star bowler for Bangladesh as he picked 2 wickets for 39 runs. Rasel, Nazmul and Enamul Jr. bagged two wickets each while Mahmudullah grabbed one.

The two sides meet again for the third ODI of the GrameenPhone cup at the same venue on Friday.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Partner Sites | Useful Links | Banners |

© BanglaCricket