facebook Twitter RSS Feed YouTube StumbleUpon

Home | Forum | Chat | Tours | Articles | Pictures | News | Tools | History | Tourism | Search

Go Back   BanglaCricket Forum > Miscellaneous > Forget Cricket

Forget Cricket Talk about anything [within Board Rules, of course :) ]

Old July 22, 2005, 03:37 PM
Test Cricketer

Default Bangladesh: Islamic or Secular?

As most of you know, I am studying your history currently for a Partition of Research project in 1905 for my University college.

Here is a quote:

"Bangladesh presents an interesting case of confued identity. If Bangladesh asserts its Islamic identity, it cannot justify its liberation struggle, as that was not only directed against Islamic Pakistan but was actively aided by "Hindu" India. Alternatively, if it displays its Bengali credentials, it runs the risk of merging its identity beyond recognition into that of the West Bengal and its major city, Calcutta, the cultural capital for all Bengalis in India and abroad. Even a simultaneous assertion of Bengali and Islamic identities serves only a limited purpose because this does not satisfactorily distinguish Bangladesh from West Bengal.

This is a very interesting article. It goes on to say that 13 million Bengalis migrated to West Bengal in recent years. It says that Bangladesh has the largest population per square mile in the world. 500!!! peple for every square mile. Canada is 4 people. If you take only areas that can be developed, it is still only 20 people.

Anyway, I'm trying to understand this article, and I was wondering, do most Bangladeshis find themselves more Secular or Islamic right now, any other imput or discussion about this is appreciated. Thanks for your help.

Extracted from: Asian Survey, Vol. 33, No. 7, South Asia: Responses to the Ayodhya Crisis (Jul., 1993, 697 - 710.

p.s. You guys truly have a Fascinating and complex history.

Old July 22, 2005, 04:06 PM
BanglaCricket Staff

Quote:
Originally posted by whiteguy

Here is a quote: